Slow starting Emmet’s bounce back in second half

Antrim Hurling League – Division 2

Bredagh 0-14 Cushendun 2-13

Cushendun bounced back from their midweek defeat to Glenariffe when they travelled to Bredagh on Sunday and came away with a five point win.

Trailing by a point at half time (0-5 to 0-6) the Emmet’s really found their form in the second half and boosted by two goals, one from James Morgan and the other from Harry Kilgore steered them to a vital win over a good Bredagh team.

The home started strongest and corner forward Rory McCamphill had the first two points of the game, one from a free and the other from play. James Morgan opened the Cushendun scoring in the fifth minute, but Bredagh were well on top and Ciaran McMullan and Liam Hogan stretched their lead to 0-4 to 0-1 by the seventh minute.

Conlaoith McNeill pulled one back on seventeen minutes but scores were hard to come by for the Emmet’s and when Tiernan Sheehan stretched the Bredagh lead to six two after 23 minutes things did not look good for the north Antrim men, but the produced a strong finish to the first half and points from Fintan McQuillan, Colm McKeegan and James Morgan brought them back to within a point at the interval.  

Cushendun got their noses in front when James Morgan and ‘Loaf’ McNeill hit the first two points of the second half, and though Tiernan Sheehan hit back with one for Bredagh on 37 minutes the tide was definitely turning and Fintan McQuillan gave them back the lead they would not consequently lose one minute later. Loaf added a point on 41 minutes and one minute later James Morgan struck a telling blow when he fired home the first goal of the game.

McKeegan and McQuillan tagged on point to give the Emmet’s a bit of breathing space, and though Bredagh kept themselves in touch with some great free taking by Tiernan Sheehan, the north Antrim men finished strongly and a Harry Kilgore goal five minutes from time sealed the win


Gareth McGhee, Sean Hamilton, Aidan Corbett, Mark McSparran, Calum Kilgore, Jack McKay, Sean McKay, Dominic McQuillan, Thomas Scally, Fintan McQuillan (0-3), James Morgan (1-3), Harry Kilgore (1-0), David Kilgore (0-2), Conlaoith McNeill (0-3), Colm McKeegan (0-2).


Ian Galway, Evan Maguire, Michael Woods, Lawerence Smyth, Aaron Carey, Niall McFarland, Tiernan Sheehan, Mark Patterson, Mel Laverty, Ciaran McMullan, Oran McFlynn, Ben Christie, Liam Hogan, Keelan Power, Rory McCamphill.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.