Rasharkin maintain their relentless run

ACFL Division 3

Laochra Loch Lao 0-4 Rasharkin 0-17

Rasharkin maintained their relentless run towards the Division 3 title when they travelled to Belfast on Wednesday night and recorded a resounding win over Laochra Loch Lao – their 10th win on the trot.

They got off to a perfect start when a long ball into Eamonn McNeill from Cathal Mooney was off loaded to Ryan Lynch and the big man finished with the outside of his boot for the game’s opening point in the second minute.

Laochra replied with a point from Conor McGucken but Rasharkin were in buoyant mood as they hit three on the trop from Eamonn McNeill (0-2) and Ryan Lynch whose return to the side in recent weeks has bolstered their attack.

The home side were fighting hard to gain a foothold and they replied through Niall MacAodha and PJ O’Prey to close the gap to two with 17 minutes gone and we looked to have a game on our hands but that as close as they got.

Back came the men from Dreen and that man Lynch hit his third point of the half and the same player struck another in the 19th minute after being set up by Ruairi O’Boyle.

The scores dried up after that but it was the visitors who were to finish with the best point of the half when Ryan Lynch hit another excellent effort from a sideline free from out on the left as St. Mary’s started to impose their authority on the game to lead 0-7 to 0-3 at the break.

There was still work to do as the game got under way for the second half but Rasharkin were in no mood to take their foot of the pedal as Eamonn McNeill pointed after 18 seconds and Donagh Quigg and McNeill again moved their side seven ahead by the third minute.

Laochra Loch Lao had been under the cosh for a time but they replied with a point from Connor McGucken in the 6th minute to momentarily relieve the pressure but McGucken’s point would be their last score of the game.

Despite a Black card to Cathal Mooney, the league leaders stepped it up another gear to produce football that their opponents just couldn’t live with as Ryan Lynch, Fearghal Kennedy, Lynch again and youngster, Oisin Casey added points by the 22nd minute and it was as good as over at this stage.

Rasharkin turned on the style in the run in to the final whistle with Shane Hasson, Eamonn McNeill from a free (after a blistering run from defence by Pearce Kelly who was fouled), Oisin Casey and McNeill again concluded the scoring to leave the visitors convincing winners.

Rasharkin top the division with 20 points from 10 starts with Peases four points behind them on 16 points from 11 starts and O’Donnell’s handily placed in third with 15 points from 9 starts and these two look best placed to challenge St. Mary’s for the title.

Rasharkin: 1 – Andrew Hasson, 2 – Pearse Kelly, 3 – Emmet McFerran, 4 – Conor Hasson, 5 – Daniel Doherty, 6 – Donagh Quigg, 7 – Fergus Quigg, 8 – Ruairi OBoyle, 9 – Cathal Mooney, 10 – Fearghal Kennedy, 11 – Thomas McMullan, 12 – Shane Hasson, 13 – Ryan Lynch, 14 – Eammon McNeill, 15 – Killian O’Boyle

Subs Used:

Oisin Casey

Colm Kennedy

Cormac McMullan

Oran McMullan

Pearse McTague

Referee: Eamon Hamill

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.