Davitt’s recover from slow start to beat Aldergrove

O’Neill’s Sportswear ACFL Division 2

Davitt’s 0-12 Aldergrove 0-8

Davitt’s recovered from a slow start to beat Aldergrove in Wednesday evening’S Division 2 League game at Davitt Park, a win that lifts them into the top half of the table.

Aldergrove, who have been riding high in recent weeks, started the game strongly and after nine minutes they led by 0-3 to 0-0, the points coming from Declan Gough, in the opening minute, Brian McQuillan in the5th minute and full forward Seamus McGarry in the 9th. Everything appeared to be going to plan for the Crumlin men, but incredibly they would not score again for the remainder of the opening half as slowly but surely Davitt’s began to find their feet. Man of the match Gerard Slane opened their account from a long range free on 13 minutes and two minutes later full forward Caoimhan Slane added another. A great move, the length of the field saw Sullivan draw the Falls Road men level on 17 minutes and they hit the front for the first time when Gerard Slane converted his second free on 21 minutes. Davitt’s controlled build up was working wonders and they went on to add three more before half time through Jay Maguire, Gerad Slane and Caoimhan Slane to lead by 0-7 to 0-3 at the break.

Aldergrove ended a 25 minutes scoreless spell with a point in the fourth minute of the second half, as centre forward Brian McQuillan hit the target but man of the match Slane came back with one at the other end to restore the home side’s four point cushion.  Two quick points from Seamus McGarry and Ronan Hanna brought Aldergrove back to within two at the end of the third quarter and things began to look more positive for the visitors, but Slane came back with his fifth point of the game to widen the gap to three.

With ten minutes left to play Aldergrove corner forward Ronan Hanna got his team back to within two with a well taken point, but yet again Slane had a reply. Seamus McGarry grabbed another point for the visitors on 60 minutes, but Conor Dobbin had the final say for Davitt’s to seal a four point win.


Liam McGivern, Caoimhin Rainey, Jason Park, Conor Toner, John Sullivan, Anto Morgan, Jack scally, Anthony Rowntree, Michael Connolly, Christopher Laverty, Gerard Slane, Jay Maguire, Padraig McParland, Caoimhan Slane, Nathan Maginn.


Shane O’Neill, David Aiken, Eoin Gough, Christopher McVeigh, Conor Browning, Andy Flood,  Gerard Mallon, Christopher Browning, Conleth Hendron, Declan Gough, Brian McQuillan, Ryan Owens, Ronan Hanna, Seamus McGarry, Oisin Graham.

Referee – Colin Mallon

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.