Rasharkin march on

ACFL Division 3

Rasharkin  9-15 Wolfe Tones 0-9

Rasharkin’s relentless march towards the division 3 title continues and it seems that no one can stop them. Cardinal O’Donnell’s will have other ideas as they sit a point behind the men from Dreen but with a game more played.

St. Mary’s sit on 28 points from 14 starts while their nearest challengers, O’D’s have 27 from 15 starts with that defeat coming at MacRory Park back on the 26th April to the Rasharkin men and their meeting in the South West next Wednesday night will go a long way to deciding the destination of the league title.

On Wednesday night it took St. Mary’s a while to get going at Valley Parade with the home side kicking the opening two points through Gerard McDonnell and Vincent Lismore and when Rasharkin came back with a point from Tiernan O’Boyle and a goal from Eamonn McNeill the Tones replied again to close the gap to one through McDonnell.

Slowly though the visitors began to settle into their rhythm as Eammon McNeill 0-2, Fearghal Keneddy and Ryan Lynch struck points and when Lynch followed with his side’s second goal at the end of the opening quarter the league leaders never looked back.

Suddenly gaps began to appear in the Wolfe Tones’ rear guard as Oran McMullan, Ryan Lynch (penalty) and Oisin Casey added further goals and by half time Rasharkin were out of site as McNeill added two further majors to put his side 7-8 to 0-3 ahead.

Rasharkin began the second half on the front foot again with unanswered points from Ryan Lynch, Oisin Casey, Killian O’Boyle, Ruairi O’Boyle and Fearghal Kennedy before Declan O’Neill and Jonah Magill replying with points for the city side.

Antrim’s newest club were enjoying their best spell in the game at this stage and they matched Rasharkin point for point for a time before losing two players to Black cards and Rasharkin put the game to bed in the closing stages with further goals from Oisin Casey and Jack Quinn.

O’Donnell’s visit Dreen next Wednesday night and nothing other than a win for the MacRory Park side will suffice. A win for the league leaders would put matters to bed but there was only a goal between the sides in the first game back in April and the Whiterock Road side will travel believing they can keep their promotion hopes alive.

Rasharkin: 1 – Andrew Hasson, 2 – Pearse Kelly, 3 – Emmet McFerran, 4 – Donagh Quigg, 5 – Fearghal Kennedy, 6 – Conor Hasson, 7 – Fergus Quigg, 8 – Cathal Mooney, 9 – Ruairi OBoyle, 10 – Oran McMullan, 11 – Thomas McMullan, 12 – Oisin Casey, 13 – Tiernan O’Boyle, 14 – Eammon McNeill, 15 – Ryan Lynch

Referee: Sean Elliott (Lamh Dhearg)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.