Shamrocks hit seven as they seal the league title

O’Neill’s Sportwear Hurling League – Division 1

Ballygalget 2-12 Loughgiel 7-22

A real exhibition of scoring by Loughgiel Shamrocks saw them seal the Division one title at Ballygalget on Sunday and with one game left to play they cannot be caught. Their nearest opponents Ballycran came unstuck when they visited Dunloy, and though they have two games left to play and could theoretically match Loughgiel on points, should they win their last two games against Ballycastle and Ballygalget (and Loughgiel lose their home game with St Enda’s), the Shamrocks still would still win it on the head to head between the two sides.

James McNaughton

The first half was well contested with Ballygalget matching their visitors for most of it, but goals from James McNaughton on six minutes and Cathal Hargan on nineteen helped the Shamrocks to a 2-9 to 0-11 lead at the break.

Things took a dramatic turn after the change of ends when the wind assisted Shamrocks started to pull away. The scores were coming thick and fast and early goals from corner forward Rian McMullan and midfielder Paul Boyle saw the gap widening.

Tim Prenter pulled a goal back for the Ards men on 36 minutes but Loughgiel centre back Damon McMullan got in on the scoring act when a long delivery deceived the Ballygalget defence and ended in the net.

Michael Dorian added another goal for the men in green but Loughgiel were picking off the scores and further goals came from Rian McMullan and Shan McGrath as they stretched their lead minute by minute By the time Mark O’Neill sounded the final whistle they were 25 to the good.

Overall their forward line were the stars of the show, five of the six sharing 6-22 between them in a memorable display. The new league champions will be presented with the league trophy on Sunday 16th of July when they host Naomh Eanna in their final league game.

Shan McGrath who scored 1-10 in Loughgiel’s win over Ballygalget

1 Chris O’Connell

2 Enda Og McGarry

3 Declan McCloskey

4 Rory McCloskey

5 Odhran McMullan

6 Damon McMullan 1.00

7 Caolan Blair

8 Conor Dickson

9 Ruairi McCormick 0.01

10 Donal McKinley

11 James McNaughton 1.02

12 Cahal Hargan 1.02

13 Shan McGrath 1.10 5F

14 Paul Boyle 1.03

15 Rian McMullan 2.04

Subs Christy McGarry for Donal McKinley

Eoin McGarry for James McNaughton

Ballygalget scorers

8 Eoin Pucci 0.02

11 John McManus 0.04

12 Michael Dorrian 1.01

13 ? McDermott 0.01

14 Danny Toner 0.03

15 Tim Prentor 1.01

Referee – Mark O’Neill

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.