Youthful Cargin edge out St Gall’s in entertaining Cup final

Reserve Football Cup Final

Erin’s Own Cargin 0-13 St Galls 1-07

Cargin’s are the senior reserve football champions following victory over their counterparts from St Gall’s before a good attendance at Dunsilly in perfect conditions on Wednesday evening.

The Milltown Blues featured a host of players who have County, Provincial, and National medals from over a decade ago and gave a good account of themselves but in the end Cargin’s youthful legs proved the difference.

A superb goal in the 42nd minute by the legendary Sean Kelly threatened to spoil the Cargin party and saw St. Gall’s gain advantage for the first time but it was the Toome side who finished stronger and with the excellent Conan Johnston leading the charge and three superb late points from John McNabb, secured victory.

Both sides had impressed en route to the decider with St. Gall’s rolling back the years and including a strong contingent of their 2010 All Ireland club championship winning side while a youthful Cargin included quite a number of the side who had claimed back to back minor titles in 2020/21.

Very much a case of youth versus experience and in the event nothing was to separate them in the opening period.

Tom Shivers, who was to prove prominent throughout, raised back to back white flags in the opening exchanges to give the Toome side an early lead but

St Galls were quick to reply as Kevin Niblock sent a 30 metre free between the posts.

A john McNabb point increased the Cargin lead to two again by the 10th minute but St Gall’s were back on level terms shortly after as mid-fielder Anto Healey kicked back to back points to leave it all square at 0-03 apiece at the end of the opening quarter

An excellent Conan Johnston point saw Cargin edge ahead again in the 18th minute and the elegant Tom Shivers and Mickey Pollock Swapped points before Daniel Murtagh replied for the city side to leave it all square again at 0-05 apiece.

Cargin finished the half on the front foot with Odhran Molloy and Charlie Mc Cann getting on top at mid-field and a late Kieran Close point following good work by Hugh O’ Donnell and Conan Johnston gave them a slender 0-06 to 0-05 advantage at the short whistle.

Cargin started the second half as they had concluded the first with Hugh O’ Donnell, Sean Og Quinn and Paudie McLaughlin making a number of timely interceptions to deny the opposition.

It was wing back Paudie Mc Loughlin who would increase the Cargin lead with a smashing delivery after an impressive approach in the 34th minute and Benen Kelly’s astute approach and delivery opened the way for Tom Shivers to add another a few minutes later.

Cargin looked in control as the second half progressed but that was about to change as St. Gall’s responded with a Donal Murtagh point followed by a splendid Sean Kelly goal.

A good build up by the Milltown side saw Michael Pollock lay the ball off to Kelly and the superb finish from the latter saw the Gall’s nip ahead 1-06 to 0-08.

Cargin looked in a bit of trouble for the first time but they regained control with a great point from Paudie McLaughlin bringing them back on level terms.

Erin’s Own finished strongly and John McNabb kicked three excellent points to put them in a strong position.

Ben McLarnon, Odhran Molloy, Paudie Mc Laughlin and Fergal Johnston were much to the fore in the closing stages with Johnston making a significant contribution following his recent return from Australia.

Another Paudie McLaughlin point saw the gap increased to four but when the hard grafting Sean Kelly made reply in kind at the other end, only a single score separated the sides.

St Gall’s fought hard in the closing stages but the Cargin defence was resolute in the extreme with Conan Johnston making a timely clearance in the 62nd minute before the final whistle signalled victory for the Toome side.

Cargin: Shea Laverty, Sean Og Quinn, Conan Johnston (0-01), Hugh O’ Donnell, Paudie Mc Laughlin (0-02), Benen Kelly (0-01), Brendan Laverty, Charlie Mc Cann, Odhran Molloy, Ben Mc Larnon, Enda Mc Grogan, Feargal Johnston, Kieran Close (0-02), John Mc Nabb (0-04), Tom Shivers (0-04)


P J Quinn

Cahir O’ Boyle

Kyle Johnston

St Galls: Ciaran Og Mullan, Mark, Kelly, Colin Brady, Oisin Kelly, Michael Hopkins, Andrew Mc Clean , Sean Kelly (1-01), Aodhan Gallagher, Anto Healey (0-02), Daniel Murtagh (0-02), Michael Pollock (0-01),Conan Doherty, Kevin Niblock (0-01), Terry O’ Neill, Ciaran Mc Gourty

Subs: Manus McCrossan, Conor Burke, John McCullough

Referee: Martin Quinn (St Enda’s:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.