Goals the difference as St. Enda’s advance

U19A Football Championship

St. Enda’s 2-3 Moneyglass 0-7

St. Enda’s and Moneyglass served up an excellent game of football at Hightown last night with the result in the balance right until the end.Goals from Paddy Doran early in the game and another from Ciaran McAllister in the second half proved the difference in the end as the Hightown side edged home by two points.

With the heavy rainfall before throw-in making conditions treacherous scores would be difficult come by but it was the young St. Ergnat’s side who would make the brighter start without registering on the scoreboard.

They would pay for those early misses when a Paddy Doran shot came off an unfortunate defender and into the net to give St. Enda’s an early 3 point lead.   The visitors responded however with 2 points of their own with Tiernan McCormick and Sean O’Boyle to the fore to close the gap to one with 15 minutes gone and it was clear that we had a game on our hands.

The side exchanged further points with Ryan Kelly on target for St. Enda’s and O’Boyle replying for the visitors and it was Moneyglass who dominated the closing stage to lead by one at the short whistle.

With conditions worsening, it was Moneyglass who again made the better start but, like in first half, were not turning possession into scores and after 10 minutes play the gap remained at one in favour of the visitors.

To their credit, neither team were giving an inch with defences on top and another major at this stage would put either team in pole position. The goal did come and it was the Hightown side who would claim it, very much against the run of play when Ciaran McAllister fisted a dropping ball to give his side a 2 point lead 2-02 to 0-6 with 20 minutes on the clock.

Moneyglass did register the next score through Tiernan McCormick but this was cancelled out by Ronan Eager to restore their 2 point advantage. Moneyglass went looking for the goal they required but the home defence stood strong and it was St Enda’s who finished winners on a scoreline of 2-03 to 0-07 with great credit going to both teams for battling it out  for 60 minutes in the treacherous conditions.

St. Endas: 1 Senan Nagle, 2 Ruairi Hamilton, 3 Malachi McGibbon, 4 Fionnbar O’Loingsigh, 5 Aaron McKeown, 6 Eoghan O’Hare, 7 Ciaran McAllister, 8 Leo O’Loingsigh, 9 Michael McKenna, 10 Adam McCann, 11 Padhraig O’Hare, 12 Ronan Eager, 13 Patrick Doran, 14 Ryan Kelly, 15 Odhran McKenna, 17 Colm Curran, 18 Daniel O’Kane, 19 Ronan Bradley, 20 Ciaran McGinley

St Endas Scorers:

Paddy Doran 1-1

Ryan Kelly 0-1

Ciarán McAllister 1-0

Rónán Eagar 0-1

Moneyglass: 1. Jamie McLaughlin, 2. Oisin O’Donnell, 3. Matthew Mullin, 4. Brian Magee, 5. Damian Duffin, 6. Paul Duffin, 7. Senan O’Boyle, 8. Tiernan McCormick, 9. Kevin McCann,10. Zack Hamill, 11. Connlaodh McCann, 12. Nate Dixon, 13. Mark Duffin, 14. Sean Boyd, 15. Rory Taggart

Subs: Callum Murray for Zack Hamill

Moneyglass Scorers: 

Tiernan McCormick 0-3

Sean O’Boyle 0-4

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.