Moneyglass set up another final meeting with St. Paul’s

Northern Property SFC

Moneyglass 2-18 St. Brigid’s 1-4

Moneyglass completed their group programme unbeaten with a convincing victory over St. Brigid’s and, as was expected, will meet old rivals St. Paul’s in the final on the first of October.

Aine Devlin got the home side off to a great start with a goal in the 2nd minute and points from Cliona Griffin and a couple from Orla Prenter had them in a strong position by the 13th minute with Cliodhna Logan replying with a point for St. Brigid’s in the 7th minute.

St. Ergnat’s continued to extend their lead with points from Alicia Boyd, Ealeanor Mallon and Cathy Carey but a goal from Cliodhna Logan for the visitors in the 27th minute gave the Musgrave Park side a glimmer of hope.

Logan continued to carry the greatest threat for St. Brigid’s and she would add another point just before half time but the final score of the half fell to St. Ergnat’s Orla Prenter to leave her side 1-7 to 1-2 ahead at the break.

St. Brigid’s  added to their tally with a pointed free from Aileen McDonnell in the first minute to close the gap to four points but any hopes of a visitors comeback in the second half were soon dismissed and the Musgrave Park girls would add only one more score, a point from Theresa Mallon.

Moneyglass had been under power up to this point but they suddenly sprung into life and the scores came thick and fast with Orla Prenter again to the fore.

Aine Devlin got them on their way and Prenter followed with another before converting three frees on the bounce.

Sarah O’Neill added another in the 12th minute to put the reigning champions 10 ahead and even at this stage it was all over.

Cathy Carey got her name on the score-sheet before Annie Griffin fired home her sides second goal in the 51st minute and Leah Stewart and two more from Prenter in the final quarter put the contest out of sight.

St. Ergnat’s now play St. Paul’s in a final fixture that has become familiar for more than a decade and will start this one as firm favourites but St. Paul’s will not be too concerned about that and will hope to cause an upset against last year’s beaten Ulster club finalists.

Moneyglass: Anna Mccann, Cara McKeefry, Danielle Duffin, Niamh Neeson, Niamh McIntosh , Rebecca Bradley, Cliona Griffin, Sarah O’Neill , Laura McCann, Eleanor Mallon, Bronagh Devlin , Alica Boyd, Aine Devlin, Orlaith Prenter, Cathy Carey

Subs: Danielle Connolly for Alica Boyd, Leah Stewart for Bronagh Devlin, Annie Griffin for Eleanor Mallom, Megan McGlinchey for Aine Devlin, Mia McLarnon for Cara McKeefry

St. Brigid’s: 1 Julie Curran, 2 Danielle Hargan, 3 Maeve Blaney, 4 Enya Boyce, 5 Caoimhe Herron, 6 Emma Ferran, 7 Ciara Austin, 8 Molly McCarten, 9 Laura Agnew, 10 Aoife Monaghan, 11 Aileen McDonnell, 12 Mary Mitchell, 13 Ellie Murphy, 14 Cliodhna Logan, 15 Theresa Mellon.

Subs: 18 Emile Ni Ogartaigh, 19 Eileen Devlion, 20 Anne Brady

Referee: Fionnuala Murphy

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.