Aghagallon claim the Shield at Dunsilly

South West Development U23 Football Shield final

Aghagallon 1-12 Moneyglass 2-4

The final game in the South West Antrim’s development competition, the U23 football shield saw St. Mary’s Aghagallon and St. Ergnat’s Moneyglass meet in the final at Dunsilly on Sunday with the Lough Shore side running out winners in an entertaining game despite the heavy underfoot conditions.

Aghagallon made the brighter start and raced into a two point lead after 10 minutes with Tyler Cassidy replying with a point for St. Ergnat’s to get them on their way. Jonathan Hannon then converted two frees to move St. Mary’s further ahead before Jamie McLaughlin replied with a point for the Marian Hill side.

At this stage Aghagallon began to take control as they moved 0-5 to 0-2 and things would get better for the men in green when Kieran Hamill raced through the opposition defence to finish to the net.

Moneyglass responded and came back with a goal of their own through full-forward Tyler Cassidy but at half time it was St. Mary’s who were in the stronger position as they led 1-6 to 1-2.

Moneyglass needed a good start to 2nd half but unfortunately for them that didn’t happen and Aghagallon continued on the front foot as they extended their lead to six with a couple of early scores.

Moneyglass replied with a couple of their own and with their confidence growing they had an opportunity to put the bare minimum between sides butunfortunately the ball slipped agonisingly wide of the post.

A missed opportunity and Aghagallon stepped it up again scoring the next 3 to push their lead out to 7 and with St. Ergnat’s now down to 14 men it seemed like the game was over. To their credit they kept battling to the end and were rewarded with a goal from Aidan McErlain.

 This was to be the game’s last score with Aghagallon running out 1-12 to 2-4 winners to collect the first South Wes U23 Shield. The win came at a cost however with an injury to one of their star performers, Jamie Lamont and we wish this fine young player a speedy recovery.

The competition itself has been a success for the South West and while not every club took part, those who did will have benefited from it.

For the record Tir na nOg defeated All Saints in the U23 Cup final and Sunday’s win for Aghagallon brings the competition to a close for 2023.

Aghagallon: 1 Gabhan Baine, 23 Steven Brannigan, 3 Kieran Hamill, 4 James McCormick, 5 Padraig Gowdy, 6 Stephen Devlin, 7 Liam Russell, 8 Jamie Lamont, 9 Pauric Maginnis, 10 Enda McCartan, 11 Jonathan Hannon, 12 Ruairi McShane, 13 Callum Mulholland, 14 Joseph Lavelle, 15 Michael McStravick.

Moneyglass: 1 Rory Gribbon, 2 Matthew Mullen, 3 Nate Dixon, 4 James McCormick, 5 Frank Duffin, 6 Paul Duffin, 7 Jamie McLaughlin, 8 Kevin McCann, 9 Connlaodh McCann, 10 Connor O’Kane, 11 Aidan McErlain, 12 Ben Hamill, 13 Charlie McCloskey, 14 Tyler Cassidy, 15 Ronan Campbell, 17 Seanchan Duffin, 18 Zach Hamill, 19 Diarmuid Scullion, 20 Enda Duffin

Referee: Martin Quinn (St. Enda’s)

Related Images:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.