Emmets pushed all the way by Na Magha

All County Hurling League Div 3&4

2 copy

Matthew McCartan whose goal reignited the Cushendun challenge

Na Magha 4-10 Cushendun 2-17

Cushendun were pushed to the pin of their collar to earn a last gasp win against Na Magha in Derry on Wednesday evening. The Derry side played some great hurling and when they led by 2-3 to 0-4 after ten minutes it was clear the Emmets had a major task on their hands if they were to get anything out of the game. It was clear the long journey was taking its toll on the Emmets but they began to find their range as the half progressed and five points without replay from Eoin McQuillan, Pearse Bannon, Conleth McNeill, James Morgan and Harry Kilgore cut their half time arrears to just two points.

If Cushendun thought they had weathered the storm they were very much mistaken as Na Magha came out in the second half with all guns blazing and hit 1-2 without reply to pull seven clear. Cushendun needed a lift if they were to stay in touch and midfielder Matthew McCartan was the man who provided it when he broke through and fired the ball to the net. Things appeared to be going well as James Morgan, Conleth McNeill, and James McKay added points they were rocked back on their heels again midway through the second half when Na Magha grabbed a goal from a penalty. However the home side would only add one more point in the final ten minutes of the game and pints from Dominic McQuillan, Conleth McNeill and Pearse Bannon drew the Emmets level before McNeill sealed the win in the last minute from a 20 metre free wide on the right wing.


Conleth McNeill who hit the Cushendun winner in the final minute


Eoin Magee, Sean Hamilton, Rory McQuillan, Aidan Corbett, Michael Dunne, Mark Scally, Pearse Bannon, Eoin McQuillan, Matthew McCartan, James Morgan, Dominic McQuillan, Harry Kilgore, Contleth McNeill, Stephen McNeill, James McKay.

Subs: Liam Hamilton for Stephen McNeill

Referee – Frances Traynor (Loughgiel)


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.