Stinsons unstoppable as they sink St Mary’s

00- 13

Stinson’s James McLarnon sends Aghagallon goalkeeper Luke Mulholland the wrong was from the penalty spot to get his team off to a great start

by John McIlwaine

All County Minor Football League Division 1

Sean Stinsons 3-18 St Mary’s Aghagallon 1-11

Sean Stinsons put themselves back into contention in the All County Minor Football League when they beat joint league leaders Aghagallon in Ahoghill and with table toppers Rossa also losing out at Cargin it looks a wide open race now. Up until last Friday night Aghagallon had looked the team to beat but injuries have robbed them of four of their most influential players and defeat to Creggan on Friday evening and again tonight in Ahoghill has curtailed their winning run.

The home side flew from the traps this evening and after an early exchange of points they powered clear with two goals in a minute, the first from a James McLarnon penalty and the second one forty seconds later from play by Ryan Convery. They looked set for a third goal a minute later when McLarnon was clear on goal but a great save by Aghagallon keeper Luke Mulholland turned the ball over the bar for a point. Two pointed frees from Fintan Campbell and a well take goal from corner forward Emett Lavery brought the visitors back into contention but Stinson regained control of the game as they added six points to Aghagallon’s two to lead by 2-9 to 1-5 at the interval.

00- 15

Sean Stinson’s Ryan Convery celebrates after scoring his team’s second goal

With the wind and the gradient in their favour in the second half there was no stopping Stinsons, and though Fintan Campbell pulled a point back within seconds of the restart the home side went straight down the field from the kick-out and corner forward Ronan Lynch rounded his marker to drive a left footed shot high into the Aghagallon net. Campbell pulled one back soon afterwards but Stinsons hit seven of the next eight points to stretch their advantage to thirteen points. From here on it was a case of how many Stinsons would win by and though Aghagallon full forward Daniel Hannon closed the gap with a great point from play there was no denying the home side and they strolled to a highly impressive victory.

Sean Stinsons

1 – Patrick Dougan

2 – Christy Convery

3 – Brian Lewis

4 – Cormac Mooney

5 – Ryan Convery

6 – Declan Dobbin

7 – Paul McAleese

8 – Oisin Doherty

9 – Fergal O’Kane

10 – Calum Lynch

11 – Paddy Graffin

12 – Harry Lennon

13 – James McLarnon

14 – Ciaran Lynch

15 – Ronan Lynch


1 – Luke Mulholland

2 – Conor Foster

3 – Roland Mulholland

4 – Daire McShane

5 – Stephen Brannigan

6 – Jamie Lamont

7 – Senan Donnelly

8 – Jack Lenehan

9 – Mark McAfee

10 – Fintan Campbell

11 – Patrick McStravick

12 – Gerry Downing

13 – Emmett Lavery

14 – Daniel Hannon

15 – Ronan Lavery

Referee – Gerard Laverty (Creggan)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.