St Brigid’s collect first Feile title at the expense of a gallant Cargin



St. Brigid’s celebrate after defeating cargin in the Feile A Football final on Sunday

Feile A Football Final

St Brigid’s 3-06 Erin’s Own Cargin 1-04

St Brigid’s are celebrating their first ever Feile title after the South Belfast side proved winners over a gallant Erin’s Own Cargin side when they gained a 3-06 to 1-04 win over the South West lads on the 4G facility at Colaiste Feirste on Sunday last.

The winners had impressed on their progress in their divisional board and carried on the good work in the All County decider and will most likely prove contenders in their venture into the National competition.

Cargin opened first on a dark and dismal day as the dark clouds, which had threatened previously carried incessant rain to ensure the artificial surface was slippery in the extreme throughout as Conhuir Johnston split the posts after a couple of minutes,

The full forward who had incurred a leg injury in last week’s South West final was declared fit for the All County affair but even in the opening phase he looked hampered in movement and he was destined to call it a day shortly into the second period.


The Toome boys looked lively in the opening minutes against a strong swirling breeze but St Brigid’s hit the front after five minutes as Niall Duffy picked up a loose ball to nip forward and despatch it to the back of the net.

The city boys seized the initiative on the slippery terrain and a couple of back to back points from impressive wing half back Brian Mc Gurk increased their lead to four points midway through the fifteen minute opening period.

Cargin responded when Cahir Donnelly’s clearance opened the way for Charlie McCann and Ryan O’Neill to combine and send Tom Shivers in for a fine point.

Corner forward O’ Neill added another a minute later from out on the left wing and the South West champs looked refreshed.

St Brigid’s were soon back on the front foot again after a few minutes on the defensive and a fine 15th minute Colin Finnegan point ensured a 1-04 to 0-03 advantage at the short blast.


The beaten Cargin team.

Although the Erin’s Own boys did start in the second half with the rain and breeze in their favour it was the St Brigid’s lads who were to strike first and when James Blayney latched on a lofted delivery to fire to the back of the net and Niall Duffy followed with a point they looked very much in charge.

The Toome lads responded when a good clearance from full back Cahir Donnelly who had an excellent game sent Tom Shivers away on the offensive to be fouled on approach before despatching the resultant award directly between the posts.

The South West champions needed to keep on the positive trail requiring another score or two if they were to have any chance of bridging the gap and a smashing strike from replacement Brogan Mc Nally which yielded a 20th minute goal gave them hope.

That hope was soon dashed however and they did look in some trouble shortly eafter as the charismatic Conhuir Johnston, who had placed the substitute in for the goal a minute earlier was forced to retire from the game.

The young full forward looked less than mobile from the outset and was forced to call it a day and the Cargin challenge was on the wane.


St Brigid’s dominated the remainder of the game and despite the best efforts of Cahir Donnelly, and Conan Johnston in  defense a further point from James Blayney and a late goal from Aodhan Mc Nicholl saw the die well cast.

The South West side continued in their efforts but although Killian Scullion and the hard working Tome Shivers came close to respective scores in the latter stages St Brigid’s were not to yield an inch crossing the line as Feile champions 2018 at 3-06 to 1-04.


Referee Conall J Roberts (St John’s)

St Brigid’s: John Mc Cooe, Thomas Lloyd, Samir O’ Hare, Donal Hanna, Brian Mc Gurk (0-02), Niall Finnegan, James Gorman, Conor Brown (0-01), Colm Finnegan (0-01), Jack Toner, James Blayney (1-01), Niall Duffy (1-01), Aodhan Mc Nicholl (1-00), Brian Delaney.

Cargin: Diarmuid Quinn, Jack Harney, Cahir Donnelly, Hugh O’ Donnell, Ben Mc Larnon, Craig Thornton, Ciaran Mc Peake, Charlie Mc Cann, Conan Johnston, Cahir O’ Boyle, Tom Shivers, Callum Gribbin, Ryan O’ Neill (0-01), Daniel Mc Cann, Conhuir Johnston (0-01).


Brogan Mc Nally (1-00) for D Mc Cann

Killian Scullion for C Johnston


Naomh Brid A coaches Cathal McNicholl and Mark Finegan with sons Aodhan McNicholl (left) and brothers Colm and Niall Finegan.


Naomh Brid captains James Gorman (left) and Brian McGurk receive the Feile A trophy from county vice chairman, Terry O’Neill



    1. Deirdre sorry for the delay in replying. Unfortunately there were no action shots taken by us at this game


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.