Wylie leads All Saint’s to the Og Sport title



Harry Wylie who was prominent in All Saints win over Michael Davitt’s in the Og Sport final in Ahoghill on Sunday evening

All County Og Sport (final)

All Saint’s Ballymena 0-08 Michael Davitt’s 0-02

A virtuoso performance from net minder Harry Wylie proved central to success for All Saint’s as he led the Ballymena lads to the Antrim Og Sport title at Clooney on Sunday evening last.

Although wearing the number one jersey and attired in the garb of the keeper young Wylie was not to be restricted to such confines and his often direct approach on the offensive to link up with his front men led to scores.

The Ballymena lads were more comfortable in the keep ball, link up play in the confinements of the seven a side game than their opponents and were first to strike after less than a minute of the opening eight minute period as a slick progression through hands saw Shaun O’ Callaghan open account with a point.

The South Antrim champions were not as accomplished in approach as their opponents most often looked for the old fashioned long delivery to the front men but did come close when such delivery from CJ Sullivan sent Brandon Quinn in on goal with his delivery just wide of target.

The All Saint’s lads building in formation from the back with Harry Wylie usually central went further ahead as Ronan McKillop and Shaun O’ Callaghan were sent away to fist respective efforts over the bar.

Davitt’s did get off the mark in the 6th minute as a foul on the advancing Jamie McNally was punished as CJ Sullivan stepped forward to plant the resultant award firmly between the posts from 30 metres.

All Saint’s had the last say in the opening period and another surge forward from the advancing Harry Wylie opened the way for Ronan McKillop to fire over the bar to give the South West champions a 0-04 to 0-01 interval advantage

0R6A4525.Patrick Ferris, All Saints drives forward

The second period continued in much the same trend as the first with the All Saint’s lads looking much more comfortable in possession and a couple of early points from the ever impressive Harry Wylie saw the die all but cast.

The Davitt’s lads were not about to cry enough as they sought scores in reply with the hard grafting CJ Sullivan and Brandon Quinn endeavoring to return fire but after a couple of efforts went astray of the target a Shaun O’ Callaghan point at the other end saw the Ballymena lads move 0-07 to 0-01 ahead with the end in sight.

A 15th minute CJ Sullivan point added to the Davitt’s total but the last score on the board went the way of the accurate Shaun O’ Callaghan and his injury time score saw All Saint’s cross the line, Og Sport title secured at 0-08 to 0-02.


All Saint’s: Harry Wylie (0-02), Paddy Ferris, Michael Reid, Shaun O’ Callaghan (0-04), Ronan Mc Killop (0-01), Ciaran Campbell, Jamie Montgomery, Jude Casey, Paddy O’ Brien, Richard Mc Cann.


Davitt’s: Christopher Brown, CJ Sullivan (0-02), Deaglan Mooney, James Devine, Marcus Toner, Oran Gorman, Sean og O’ Neill, Brandon Quinn, Jamie Mc Nally.

Referee: Stephen Higgins (Tir na Nog)


South West committee member, James McVeigh presents the All County Og Sport trophy to All Saints captain, Harry Wylie.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.