Brídíní Óga back in Intermediate final

Darragh’s Coaches Antrim Intermediate semi-final

Brídíní Óga Glenravel 4-11 Dunloy 1-6

Brídíní Óga Glenravel booked a place in the final of the Darragh’s Coaches Antrim Intermediate championship when they beat Dunloy in Sunday’s semi-final in Portglenone to set up a repeat of last year’s final against Loughgiel.

Dunloy set up well to curtail the pace in the Glenravel attack. Siofra O’Mullan, Claire McGuckian playing well at the back and Shannon Woulahan dropping back for extra cover.

The plan was working well for the first quarter but then the Ward cousins combined for Kirsty Laverty to find the net in the 18th minute and a 1-3 to 0-1 lead for Glenravel.

In fairness Dunloy responded with Erin Traynor finding the net, but Laverty set up Oonagh Ward for a second Glenravel goal in the 25th minute and a 2-5 to 1-1. Late points from an Orlagh O’Neill 45 and Erin Traynor left a five points’ gap at the break.6

Although the teams shared the opening four points of the second half, the Wards got in on the goal act again in the 42nd minute with Oonagh deflecting the sliotar into Ashling’s path for goal No 3.

Caoimhe McAleenan added a free and Shauna Kelly a point from a run through the centre. Then Kelly picked up a ball on the blind side and got enough room to fire past Kirsty McFerran for a fourth goal and there were two late well-taken points for Torie Edgar and Kirsty Laverty as Brídíní Óga set up another final with Loughgiel2

Brídíní Óga : Rachael McBride, Sian McNeill, Laoise McKenna, Bernadette Convery, Eimhear McAleenan capt., Ellen Hynds, Joanne McKeown, Caoimhe McAleenan (0-2 frees), Kirsten Edgar (0-1), Kirsty Laverty (1-2), Shauna Kelly (1-1), Oonagh Ward (1-0), Ashling Millar (1-0), Victoria Edgar (0-3), Shauna McDonnell (0-2).

Subs : Beth McAuley for J McKeown (HT), Brónagh Laverty for S McNeill (HT), Niamh Donnelly for O Ward (46), Úna McAleenan for S McDonnell (55), Caroline McFadden for b Convery (55)3

Dunloy : Kirsty McFerran, Shannon Richmond, Siofra O’Mullan, Katie Kelly, Noelle Martin, Clare McGuckian, Aimee Johnston, Eimhear McMullan (0-1), Fiona Hills (0-1), Lisa McConville, Shannon Woulahan, Erin Elliott, Erin Traynor (1-2), Orlagh O’Neill (0-1 free), Lisa McGuckian (0-1).

Subs : Caoimhe Molloy for L McConville (HT), Clodagh O’Kane for O O’Neill (53).

Referee : Jimmy Totten (Cargin)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Pics by Dylan McIlwaine

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.