McQuillan GA&CC Awards Evening

The young Camógs and Hurlers of McQuillan GA & CC Ballycastle celebrated the success and progress of the 2018 season at a function in the Clubrooms at Páirc MacUilín on Friday night.

Pics by Ciara McShane

18 copyMacUilín Ballycastle: U14 County Camogie Féile & Championship Winners 2018.  All Ireland Féile na nGael Finalists 2018.  Moyle Sports Advisory Council Merit Award Winners 2018 at the club’s annual awards evening at Pairc MacUílin

Left – U12 Coach Ronan Donnelly presents Cathair Donnelly with the Shane Mullholland Memorial Tournament Shield. Right – Cian Baudant receives the Aodh Ruadh Shield from U12 Hurling Coach Ronan Donnelly.  The squad won the tournament in Ballyshannon, Donegal the morning after they narrowly lost out to Dunloy in the County Championship Final after extra time.

3MacUilín Under 12 Hurling Squad with Team Mentors Ronan Donnelly and Vincent Mort pictured at the Club’s Juvenile Presentation evening at Páirc MacUilín.

Left – Shannagh Heggarty accepts the U12 County League Cup on behalf of her Team mates from Mentors Aisling O’Hara, Maeveen Heggarty & Peter McQuillan.  The Camógs won the trophy after a thrilling play-off versus Cushendall. Right -U14 Camogie League Captain Charly McQuillan is presented with the Team’s Moyle Council Merit Award by Team Coaches Stephen McBride & Úna Kelly.

left – U14 Hurling Coaches Ryan McAfee and Barry Kelly present the Aodh Ruadh, Ballyshannon Tournament Cup to Team Captain James Bakewell. Right – U14 Hurling Joint Players of the Year Jack Colgan and James Bakewell receive their awards from Team Coaches Ryan McAfee & Barry Kelly.6b

U14 Hurling Coaches Ryan McAfee & Barry Kelly present the Most Improved Player Award to Eamon Butler.

Left – U14 County Antrim Féile an nGael Champions and All Ireland Féile Finalists 2018.  Team Captain Fay McIntosh accepts the Féile Shield on behalf of her team-mates from Coaches Stephen McBride & Úna Kelly. Right – Karen Coyles’ U14 County Championship Winners 2018.  Championship Captain Rhona Brolly received the Cup from Mentors Stephen McBride & Úna Kelly.

Joint Most Improved U14 Player Awards for 2018 go to Lauren McBride (left) and Hannah Kelly.  Both girls are pictures receiving their individual awards from Stephen McBride & Úna Kelly.

Left – The 2018 U14 Camogie Player of the Year Award was won by Fay McIntosh who accepted the award from Stephen McBride & Úna Kelly at Friday evening’s awards night. Right – MacUilín Camógs annually host the Karen Coyles’ Memorial Tournament.  This year the Blitz was played out by Under 15 Teams and the host Club won the special trophy.  Team Captain on the day, Fionnuala Kelly collected the award from Team Coach Úna Kelly at the Club’s Juvenile Dinner Dance.

left – The recipient of the U16 Most Improved Player Award for 2018 is Becky Ellis.  Due to a clash with a family event Becky was unable to attend, so her team mate Oonagh McCaughan picked up the award on her behalf from U16 Coach Úna Kelly. Right – Caitlin Heggarty receives the U16 Player of the Year Award from her Coach Úna Kelly.16

Club Chairman Aidan Boyle presents the U16B All Ireland Cup to County Players Caitlin Heggarty & Riana McBride, recognising the great achievements they experienced with Antrim in 2018.  (Missing from the photo is Becky Ellis.)17 copy

MacUilín Ballycastle: U12 County Camogie Champions 2018.





Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.