Improvement from Aldergrove but St. Brigid’s prevail

Northern Switchgear

Senior Football Championship-Group 3

St. Brigid’s 1-17 Aldergrove 1-12

Photographs: Bert Trowlen

St. James Aldergrove were on the wrong side of a bad beating at the weekend when they went down to Erin’s Own Cargin but despite losing again on Wednesday night, they showed a big improvement at Musgrave Park against St. Brigid’s

St. Brigid’s lost their last outing away to Aghagallon and a win here was imperative if they were to retain hope of qualifying for the knockout stages and in the end their greater scoring power got them over the line.

It was nip and tuck throughout the opening half with a goal from the excellent Seamus McGarry in the 21st minute keeping the visitors in touch with Peter Webb, Ronan McGrady, Ethan Carelton and John Morgan prominent for the home side.

McGarry was causing plenty of problems for the St. Brigid’s defence and at half time the sides were level at 1-6 to 0-9 with all still to play for in the second half.

Aldergrove kept in touch with their opponents during the early second half exchanges with Kian Jones knocking over a couple of points but things took a turn for the worse when they had a player dismissed for a second bookable offence after ten minutes and slowly St. Brigid’s began to get on top.

Peter Webb brought his personal contribution to 0-4 with John Morgan, Ronan McGrady and Ronan Brolly all finding the target and when Brolly fired to the net in the 22nd minute the momentum was all with the home side who eased home winners by five points.

Peter Webb, Ronan McGrady, John Morgan and goal scorer, Rory Brolly were prominent for the Musgrave Park side while the Aldergrove Management will be pleased with their teams performance if not the result.

Seamus McGarry was again their go to man while young Kian Jones was another who continues to impress as the Grove finish their campaign this Sunday with a visit to Aghagallon and St. Brigid’s face a tough away test against unbeaten Cargin.

St. Brigid’s scorers: Ronan McGrady 0-7, Rory Brolly 1-2, Peter Webb 0-4, Ethan Carelton 0-2, James Morgan 0-2.

St. James’ scorers: Seamus McGarry 1-5, Kian Jones 0-5, James Trowlen 0-1, Corey Fogarty 0-1

Referee: Cathal McDermott (Tir na nOg)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.