Gorts run up a big score against visitors Aghagallon

Senior Reserve Footbal Cup – Group 1

Gort na Mona 3:22 St Mary’s 1:15

After a tight opening half Gort na Mona put on a strong second half display and proved too strong for the visitors on Friday night.
Playing down the slope in the first half the hosts couldn’t shake off the challenge of St Mary’s and every time they got their noses in front the Aghagallon men kept in touching distance. Despite this the defining moment of the half came 15 minutes into the half. Good pressure by the home forwards forced St Mary’s across their own goal and when they tried to clear their lines Aodhan Dempster jumped to block the ball and he was rewarded when the ball steered into the unguarded net. Niall Mc Shane, back in the team after an injury, ensured the visitors stayed in touching distance with a personal tally of six points in the opening period.
Half timeGort na Mona 1:09 St Mary’s 0:10

In the opening minutes of the second half sloppy play by St Mary’s gave away two frees and Reece Coleman converted both with sweet strikes off the ground, this theme was to continue and Gort na Mona maximised every opportunity they got. Coleman would go on to score 0:08 in the second half including a well struck 45 off the ground with his left foot. The visitors pulled back early points through Anselm Henry, Niall Mc Shane and Daniel Henry but two more goals from Aodhan Dempster had the game decided by the water break. A late goal by Connor Mc Kavanagh was little more than consolation and the experience of the Belfast side saw them through to victory.

Gort na Mona
Niall Mooney, Michael Savage, Christopher Devlin, Darren Cahill, Joe Mc Kee, Gary Doyle, James Connolly (0:01), Brian Mc Carthy, Padraic Mulvenna (0:01), Tim Scannell (3:01),Ciaran Donnelly (0:02) Aodhan Dempster (0:03), Niall Melaney, Joe Mc Donnell (0:02), Reece Coleman (0:09 3f)
19 (0:02)
St Mary’s
Max Thomas, Daire Mc Shane, Roland Mulholland, Christopher Mc Grath, Kieran Hamill, Aaron Doherty, Steven Branagan (0:01), Niall Rogers, Dessie Marshall,Christopher Henry, Niall Mc Shane (0:07 2f), Kieran Magee, Adam Shanks (0:02), Daniel Hannon (0:02), Connor Mc Kavanagh (1:03 3f)
Joe Mc Alinden for Aaron Doherty, Aneslm Henry (0:01) for Christopher Henry, Philip Tallon for Niall Rogers, Joe Lavelle for Adam Shanks, Cormac Lavery for Kieran Magee

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.