Ballycastle join Pearses in semi-finals


St Agnes 0-3 McQuillans 1-5.

McQuillan’s, Ballycastle jopined Pearse as qualifiers from Group 1 for a place in the semi-finals of the Junior Football Championship following this five point win over St. Agnes in Belfast last night.

On a night where conditions were poor, St. Agnes Junior Championship hopes ended, the football was sub-standard as both teams failed to produce their best football in the atrocious conditions.It was the visitors however who showed the greater accuracy and produced the scores that mattered.

At the first water break both side had failed to register a score and the second quarter wasn’t much better. The first score for the Aggies came from a free by Conor Gilligan and didn’t come until the 23rd minute. Mark Higgins from a free two minutes later equalised for the visitors and the home side shot two wides and dropped 4 short while McQuillan’s recorded five wides as players fought to master the difficult conditions leaving the half time score 0-1 each.

The second half continued in much the same vein with the home side dropping four short including a free kick whilst the visitors chalked up four wides. The Aggies cause wasn’t helped with the sending off on a second yellow for Briondan McLarnon.and the score at the 2nd half water break was 2-1 for McQuillan’s and it still looked anyone’s game. .Ballycastle gained the initiative during the closing quarter and edged further in front with two points with a solitary point reply from Ronan Carroll leaving the score 0-3 to 0-2 for the away side with  five minutes to go. The Aggies had a chance to go in front with a goal chance which went agonisingly wide. Two points from ‘The Town’ edged them further in front with ‘Slim’ McLean replying with the Aggies final score. A goal from Ronan McCarry sealed it for the North Antrim men as St. Agnes continued to waste chances and it is Ballycastle who go forward to the semi-final draw while Naomh Una will reflect on what might have been.

Scorers: St Agnes: Conor Gilligan 0-1(free),Ronan Carroll 0-1, Conor McLean 0-1.

McQuillans: Ronan McCarry 1-0,Mark Higgins 0-2(0-1free),Ciaran Butler 0-1,Conleth McCaughan 0-1,Stephen McGill.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.