Rasharklin and Tir na nOg share the spoils

Larkin Cassidy Solicitors

IFC Group 2

St. Mary’s Rasharkin 3-7       Tir na nOg 2-10

In wet and windy conditions at Dreen and with little at stake but pride St. Mary’s Rasharkin and Tir na nOg, Randalstown  couldn’t be separated after an hour’s football.

The game began with both sides struggling with the conditions that took a bit of getting used to with Tir Na nOg getting off to the better start and Darragh Fagan scoring from distance with the aid of the breeze. Rasharkin settled after a few minutes but struggled to hold the ball in the final third, eventually getting their opening point from Ryan Lynch from a short worked 45.

The home side got a second point after a good run by Colm Kennedy getting tight in towards the posts to fist over the bar.

 Both teams continued to battle with Tir Na nOg creating the more chances and striking 2 more wides within the first 10 minutes. Rasharkin managed to break away with a quick sweeping attack forward and Dongah Quigg fired to the net from distance giving the home side a 4-point advantage, Tir Na nOg responded with several attacks and a wide from Darren O’Kane before Darragh Fagan pulled one back with another well taken score. Another Rasharkin quick passing attack resulted in Rurai O’Boyle through on goal but Tir Na nOg keeper Sean Paul McAtamney pulled off a great point blank save deflecting it for a 45 which Andrew Hasson converted taking it to the water break.

After the water break Tir na nOg quickly responded with another long-range point from Darragh Fagan and as both sides shared possession they exchanged points before Rasharkin struck for another goal. The move started from Ryan Doherty’s long kick-out and a quick pass left Rurai O’Boyle through on goal again and he quickly dispatched the ball to the, net giving the home side a 6-point advantage with 8 minutes of the half remaining. Both teams were then guilty of bad wides before both picked up another point each before the break, Ryan Lynch with the best of them from the outside of the boot. Tir Na nOg looked dangerous in attack but Rasharkin taking their chances took control heading into the second half.

2nd Half

Rasharkin started after the break as they finished the first with a quick break but only resulted in another wide and then followed up with a couple of chances dropping short as they played into the strong wind. That’s where it ended for the Dreen side as Tir Na nOg took control with Rasharkin keeper Ryan Doherty pulling off a good save and after some erratic shooting,  Darragh Fagan struck again with a great effort with the outside of the boot. Tir na nOg continued with their pressure and were rewarded after 9 minutes with a well worked goal from Darragh Fagan from close range.

Three minutes later the Whitehill side scored a second goal opening up the home sides defence easily with Darren McCormick fisting to the net. Rasharkin tried to respond but couldn’t add any further scores with the away side one point to the good at the water break.

The drink must have done Ryan Lynch some good and he raced through the visitors defence on the restart to strike another goal for Rasharkin putting them back in control. Tir na nOg rallied again and won back possession and control with Rasharkin becoming sloppy and Barry McCormick broke clear to pull one back for the away team.

Rasharkin replied again and Ryan Lynch fired over another good point but Tir na nOg found another response with 2 on the trot from Darren O’Kane and Darragh Fagan leaving them a point clear heading into the final minute of the game. Ryan Lynch became the Rasharkin hero with his well-worked score bringing the home side level and it was to prove the game’s final score and ending both sides involvement in this year’s championship.

A tight game of football with both teams playing in spells and finding handling difficult in the conditions. Ryan Lynch was Rasharkin’s best performer, scoring 1-5 but the stand out performer on the night was Tir na nOg’s midfielder, Darragh Fagan who finished the night with 1-6.  

 Rasharkin                                                                   Tir Na nOg

Ryan Doherty                                                    Sean Paul McAtamney

Conor Doherty                                                  Brandon McLernon

Conor Hasson                                                   Ciaran McGrellis

Liam Quigg                                                         Barry Magee

Fergus Quigg                                                    Ciaran Byrne

Donagh Quigg                                                    Niall Cassidy

Andrew Hasson                                               Darren O’Kane

Jack Quinn                                                          Barry McCormick

Thomas McMullan                                           Darragh Fagan

Rurai O’Boyle                                                     Barry Heffron

Shane Hasson                                                    Aodhan Tolan

Colm Kennedy

                                                                               Oliver McAtamney

Ryan Lynch                                                        Peter Cullen

Tiernan O’Boyle                                                    Daniel Hastings

Cahir Henderson                                         Darren McCormick

Subs: Rasharkin

1st Half

Gerard O’Hagan for Cahir Henderson    

2nd half 

Kealan Darragh for Jack Quinn   

Thomas Doherty for Tiernan O’Boyle     

Killian O’Boyle for Colm Kennedy                                                             

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.