Glenavy keep their unbeaten run in tact

Antrim U16 B Football League

St.Joseph’s Glenavy 2.17 v 0.12 St.Mary’s Rasharkin

The game was played in glorious sunshine with a strong breeze blowing towards the school end which made scoring into the parochial end more difficult. The clubs agreed to 14 aside which made it a more open game. Both teams played with great heart and lots of skill. 

The home side got off to a flyer with 1.05 on the scoreboard before the visitors got going. Shay O’Neill, Finn Shannon, Ruairi Hamill, Shay O’Neill again put their side in a commanding lead. We then had the first goal when Ruairi Hamill, son of the legendary Ronan, finished a great move when he rounded his man to finish to the net. Rasharkin had their first score when Donal Doherty pointed from play and this was quickly followed by a J P Hasson point. The home side’s defence steadied and cut the flow into the forwards which was rewarded with a goal and six unanswered points. Fiontan O’Boyle, Finn Shannon adding a goal and three points. Ruairi Hamill and Shay O’Neill added a point apiece to leave the score 2.11 to 0.02 to the home side. Jackre Kerzierdski pulled a point back on the stroke of halftime.

The visitors added an Oisin Carey point direct from the throw in and Fiontan O’Boyle added to his tally with an excellent point. The Hill defence were finding playing against the wind difficult and were being put under pressure from the visiting attack and Joseph McMullan and J P Hasson added points to close the gap. Niall Burke and Matthew Kane extended the Orangemen’s lead with a point each but Donal Doherty and Oisin Carey were once again on the score-sheet with two excellent points each for the visitors.

Rasharkin held their opponents scoreless for fifteen minutes and only for some rash shooting would have closed the gap before the energetic Niall Burke landed a beauty between the sticks. JP Hasson added a much needed point for the Dreen side but it was to prove to be the game’s final score as the referee blew the final whistle.

 St. Joseph’s: Jamie Hanna; Conor Loney (Angus MacDonald 40Mns.); Odhran Arthurs; Daniel Hamill (Ethan Hotchkiss); Emmett McCloy (Chris O’Hare45mns); Dara McAlister; Shay O’Neill; Mathew Kane; Niall  Burke; Fiontan O’Boyle; Ruairi Hamill (Eoin Phillips 40mns.): Finn Shannon (Cormac Donnelly 50mns) Ronan Hill; Eugene Clenaghan (Peter Mulholland45mns.);

Referee Colin Mallon Aghagallon

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.