Shane’s the man as Rasharkin advance

Casement SC

Junior Hurling Championship semi-final

St. Mary’s Rasharkin 2-12 Glenravel 1-8

A personal haul of 2-5 for St Mary’s forward Shane Hasson saw Rasharkin advance to their first Antrim junior hurling final since 2015.

 Both goals came in a first half that saw both sides reduced to fourteen men, but it was the Dreen side who made the most of the extra space, two first half goals putting them in the driving seat.

 It was Con Magee’s, though, who asserted the early pressure, opening the scoring with a Conleth O’Loan free after three minutes, before Conor McKeever hit back for the 2015 champions.

 Referee Ciaran McCloskey allowed the game to flow as both teams exchanged scores, Glenravel’s free-taking just keeping them ahead by 0-4 t 0-3 at the first half water break.

 After a flashpoint on 20 minutes, Glenravel’s Padge O’Neill saw red with Rasharkin’s Conor McKeever also receiving a second yellow in the aftermath.

 St Mary’s adapted better to losing a man, with neat interplay working the ball to Shane Hasson, who shot past Chris McCann in the Glenravel goal.

 The St Mary’s men were dealt a further blow when the influential James Scally was forced to retire through injury, but on the stroke of half time, Shane Hasson doubled his goal tally to leave Rasharkin ahead by 2-6 to 0-6 at the break.

 Con Magee’s shifted things tactically for the second half, pulling an extra man back in front of their defence, but Rasharkin started brightly with a Declan McKay score.

 The Dreen men added a further three points before the second half water break to leave them ten points ahead going into the final quarter.

 Glenravel threw James Duffin into the full forward line in an last ditch effort to rescue the game and drew blood when a Declan Traynor shot was parried into the path of Eoin Hynds who pulled to the net.

 A huge Thomas McMullan point quelled any jangling nerves as Rasharkin traded late points with Con Magee’s, who saw two late 21 yard frees turned away by Tiernan O’Boyle and Daniel Doherty.

 The winners progress to a final meeting with St Paul’s as they look to bring the title back to Dreen after a five-year absence.

St Mary’s: Aidan Darragh, Liam Tunney, Daniel Doherty, Conor Doherty, Daniel Hasson, Conor Hasson, Tiernan O’Boyle, Emmet McFerran, Thomas McMullan, Donagh Quigg, Aidan McKeever, Conor McKeever, James Scally, Declan McKay, Shane Hasson.

Subs: Connaire Donaghy for James Scally 32′, Colm Kennedy for Declan McKay 51′, Anthony O’Kane for Aidan McKeever 53′, Kealan Darragh for Emmet McFerran 55′.

Con Magee’s: Chris McCann, Michael McQuillan, Shanlee Kerr, Conor Carey, Padge O’Neill, James Duffin, Brian O’Neill, Eoin McCusker, Eoin Hynds, Michael McDonnell, Conleth O’Loan, Niall Donnelly, Jonathan Fyfe, Shane Woulahan, Sean McKay

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.