Johnnies bridged seven year gap to take the 2011 Minor Hurling title


Ten years ago St John’s ended a seven year barren spell when they won the Minor Hurling Championship, beating Cushendall in the final at Casmenent Park.

Antrim Minor Hurling Championship Final 2011

St John’s 1-15 v Cushendall 2-7

St John’s won their first Minor Hurling title since 2004 when they beat last year’s champions Cushendall in Friday evening’s final at Casement Park.  Dominant in the opening half the Johnnies had to withstand a gallant second-half fightback by Cushendall but they weathered the storm and went on to score a deserved victory.

  In perfect conditions St John’s showed their dominance from the start and after an early exchange of points by Locky McCurdy (St John’s) and Ronan McGrady (Cushendall) the Johnnies gained a firm grip thanks mainly to a goal and three points from their excellent full-forward Micheal Bradley as they went on to open up a seven point lead by the fourteenth minute.

Michael Bradley was in great form at full forward for the Johnnies

 A Ronan McGrady point in the nineteenth minute signalled a bit of revival for the Ruairi Og lads and they could well have got themselves back into the game had it not been for a couple of magnificent saves from St John’s goalkeeper Padraig Nugent. As it was all Cushendall could muster was a Stephen McAfee point while St John’s added another from Micheal Bradley and two from Conor Johnston to lead by 1-9 to 0-3 at half-time.

 On the evidence of the first-half Cushendall’s title was all but gone but to their credit they came out after half-time with ‘all guns blazing’ and boosted by a fantastic goal from an overhead volley by full-forward Dominic Delargy they cut their arrears to just five by the forty-sixth minute. 

Big Dom Delargy’s sensational goal, from an overhead flick, brought the Ruairis back into contention.

 St John’s were suddenly ‘all at sea’ but a Conor Johnton point settled the nerves and three more from the talented corner-forward, and one from substitute Daireann Flynn, pulled them ten clear by the fifty-ninth minute. Cushendall never gave up the fight and points from Ronan McGrady and Ryan McCambridge plus a goal by Conor McClafferty left them just five in arrears at the end. However St John’s were worthy winners as they deservedly collected the Minor trophy for the first time in seven years.

St John’s captain Darren Flynn receives the cup from count chairman Jim Murray

 NAOMH EOIN – Padraig Nugent, Thomas Manning, Peter McMahon, Jody Watson, Jack Hannigan, Ciaran Johnston, Ronan McCafferty, Christopher McQuillan, Luke Peden, Micheal Dudley, Fearghal Morgan, Donall Quinn, Locky McCurdy, Micheal Bradley, Conor Johnston.

 SUBS USED – Daireann Flynn; Donall Carson.

RUAIRI OG – Conor McAlister, Conor Grant, Fearghal McKillop, David Kearney, Patrick Burke, Paddy Blaney Ryan McCambridge, Eamon Kearns, Ronan McGrady, Sean McAfee, Eamon Heggarty, Eoghan Campbell, Cormac McClafferty, Dominic Delargy, Alex Delargy.

 REFEREE – Mark O’Neill (Armoy Glen Rovers)

Conor Johnston played a leading role in the St John’s victory.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.