Rasharkin back to winning ways

ACFL Div 3

Rasharkin 2-10

ODonnells 0-07

Following what could only be described as a couple of disastrous results, St. Mary’s Rasharkin got back to winning ways with a good win over visitors O’Donnell’s at Dreen last evening.

It was the visitors who struck first however and in a low scoring opening quarter they led 0-2 to 0-1 through Patrick Meenan and Caolan Loughran with Rasharkin’s reply coming from Andrew Hasson, 17 minutes into the opening half.

This score seemed to settle the Dreen side and they added two more without reply from Fergus Quigg and Odhran McGarrell before Shane Hasson got in for the game’s opening goal, four minutes from half time.

O’Donnell’s relied and Patrick Meenan pointed the final score of the half to leave it 1-3 to 0-3 for Rasharkin at the halfway stage but it still looked finely balanced at this stage of the game.

O’Donnell’s showed their intent when they opened the second half scoring through the impressive Patrick Meenan but Rasharkin were beginning to find their rhythm and Shane Hasson, Andrew Hasson and Oran McMullan fired over three quick fire points to move their side five in front with only five minutes of the second half gone.

Patrick Meenan pulled one back for the Whiterock side as Seamus Ellis replaced Pearse Kelly in the Rasharkin side and after Odhran McGarrigle fired home Rasharkin’s second goal the substitute followed with a point to move the South West side seven ahead by the 18th minute.

Patrick Meenan was doing his best to keep the O’D’s in touch as he pointed another free but the home side were now on top in most areas of the field and Shane Hasson and Oran McMullan responded with points to move them further ahead with five minutes still to play.

The visitors never gave up and Padraig McKissock pointed from a late free before Andrew Hasson capped a fine individual performance with the final point of the game as it edged into injury time.

St Mary’s Rasharkin: Ryan Doherty, Pearce Kelly, Emmet McFerran, Conor Doherty,Fergus Quigg, Thomas McMullan, Donagh Quigg, Jack Quinn, Ruairi OBoyle, Odhran McGarrell, Shane Hasson, Colm Kennedy, Cahir Henderson, Andrew Hasson, Oran McMullan Subs:


10mins 2nd half substitution St Mary’s Rasharkin–> off:Pearse Kelly on: Seamus Ellis

19mins 2nd half substitution St Mary’s Rasharkin–> off: Fergus Quigg  on: Thomas Doherty

25mins 2nd half substitution St Mary’s Rasharkin–> off: Oran McMullan  on: Gerard O’Hagan

O’Donnell’s Panel: David Mackel: Conor Murphy, Nathan Garland O’Neill, Gerard Sloan, Jonathan McKenna, Stephen Seawright, Gearoid McKernan, JohnRafferty, Conor Walsh, Patrick Meenan, Richard McAvoy, Keelan Loughran, Cailean Walsh, Michael Dorrian, Padraig McKissock, Darragh Walsh, David Mackle, Luke Doyle, Daniel Walsh, GD Doherty, Scott Thompson, Ryan Rafferty

Referee: Gerard Duggan (Creggan)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.