Late Sheerin point retains Tir na nOg’s unbeaten record

ACFL Division Two

St Ergnat’s Moneyglass 1-08 Tir na nOg 1-09

A late point by full forward Kevin Sheerin secured a full return of the points and ensured Tir na nOg retained their unbeaten record following a close encounter at Marian Hill last night.

The home side staged a strong second half comeback after a poor opening period and looked to have secured a share of the spoils when the visitors had Christy Sheerin dismissed.

The momentum was now with Moneyglass and Colm Duffin fired over a 59th minute equaliser but the Whitehill Blues had the last say and that late Kevin ‘Scamper’ Sheerin point claimed the verdict.

The game had started as it was to continue at frantic championship pace and it was the visitors who were first to strike when Dara Feagan defied distance and an acute angle to fire between the posts from away out on the left wing to open account.

The Randalstown men with an unbeaten record to date, arrived to the Marian Hill in a positive mood and a second point despatched by Aaron McNeilly underlined early supremacy.

The home side returned fire in the 11th minute as Ryan Doyle finished a well contrived move to find the net and take the lead but this was short lived as a Caoimhinn Duffin point secured parity at the first water break.

Colm Duffin pointed the home side ahead on the restart but in the event it was the visitors who were to dominate the remainder of the half.

An excellent Aaron McNeilly point secured parity again for the Whitehill men and Dara Feagan followed suit from away out on the left hand side before Ciaran O’ Neill came forward to finish between the posts and the visitors had nipped into a two point lead.

A Colm Duffin point reduced the deficit again for the Marian Hill men as the end of the opening period approached but in the event it was the visitors who finished in style and when Ciaran Mc Keown finished to the net it ensured a 1-06 to 1-02 fully merited interval advantage.

Having made most of the running in the opening half and with the breeze behind in the second, the visitors were in a strong position but the home side were having none of it and the introduction of Aiden McErlaine was to provide impetus.

St Ergnat’s began the second half on a positive note and Ryan Doyle fired between the posts in the opening minute and Colm Duffin added another following a foul on the incoming James Mc Meill.

The home side were gaining in confidence and when Sean Kelly fired over after Aiden Mc Erlaine came wide to collect, only the minimum separated the sides.

Tir na nOg were struggling to regain their composure but replacement Ciaran Duffin came first to collected and add a good point with his first touch and only a point separated the sides when Ryan Boyd sent Colm Duffin in to raise a 16th minute white and ensure a tense last quarter.

An excellent finish by Sean Redmond allowed the Whitehill men to take a two point lead but when Christy Sheerin was shown a second yellow and the inevitable red the pendulum had swung in favour of the home side.

As the last quarter progressed a good Jervis Weir strike reduced the gap to one and Moneyglass were in the ascendancy as the end approached.

 The home side pushed for home and created a couple of clear cut opportunities to regain parity on the board before a 59th minute Colm Duffin point saw his side draw level.

As the game moved into time added on the visitors created one final opportunity with replacement Ciaran Dobbin placing Kevin Sheerin and the big full forward calmly stroked between the posts to claim victory and retain their unbeaten record.

Moneyglass: Gavin Murray, Peter Mc Cormick, Tiernan Duffin, Jervis Weir (0-01), Patrick Mc Cormick, Conor Boyd, Fergal Duffin, Colm Duffin (0-05), James Mc Meill, Seanachan Duffin, Niall Boyd, Sean Kelly (0-01), Ryan Doyle (1-01), Jack Mc Coy


Aiden Mc Erlaine for J Mc Meill

Tir na nOg: S P Mc Atamney, Sean Redmond, Ciaran Mc Grellis, Peter Cullen, Ciaran O’ Neill (0-01), Darren Mc Cormick, Caomhinn Duffin (0-01), Christy Sheerin, Ryan O’ Neill, Aaron Mc Neilly (0-02), Sean Duffin, Dara Feagan (0-03), Ben Martin, Kevin Sheerin (0-01), Ciaran Mc Keown (1-00)


Ciaran Dobbin (0-01) for C Mc Keown

Brandon Mc Larnon for Darren Mc Cormick

Kevin Kerr for R O’ Neill

Referee D Mc Keown (St Gall’s)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.