St. Comgall’s relentless pursuit continues

ACFL Div.3

Naomh Comhghall 0-12 Ballycastle 0-4

St. Comgall’s Antrim continued their relentless pursuit of the division 3 title when they proved too good for McQuillan’s Ballycastle in Antrim on Wednesday night. Tom Patchett was the man who again led the way in attack and weighed in with three points over the hour, providing problems for the visitors defence throughout.

The visitors hung in there during the opening half and made life difficult for the hosts who led 0-3 to 0-1 at the first water break. Despite enjoying plenty of possession the home side were only able to add a further point before half time and at the change of ends the score was 0-4 to 0-1 in favour of the Antrim town side.

The visitors didn’t offer much in attack but continued to defend resolutely and at half time a come-back still looked possible if a little unlikely. St. Comgall’s continued to call the shots with Dannan O’Hara and Lewis Higgins dictating matters at midfield but still had a bit of work to do at the second water break where they led by four.

It was only in the final quarter that the league leaders finally found top gear with Patchett, Joe Webb and Miles Devine finding space and their shooting boots and they went on to add six points without reply to provide the total that their overall superiority deserved.

St. Comgall’s: Anto Watson, Peter McAuley, Aaron McGaw, Ruairi Griffin, Kain Walker, Dylan Murdock, Paddy O’Connor, Lewis Higgins, Dannan O’Hara, Caolan McKeown, Miles Devine, Tom Patchett, Caolan O’Loan, Joe Webb, Paddy Quinn.

Scorers: Tom Patchett 0-3, Paddy Quinn 0-2, Miles Devine 0-2, Joe Webb 0-2, Ruairi Griffin 0-1, Dylan Murdock 0-1, Caolan O’Loan 0-1

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.