Na Gaeil Oga maintain winning run

U-15 ACHL Division 2 

Na Gaeil Oga 7-15- 2-08 Creggan 

Kevin Herron reports from Hannahstown 

Na Gaeil Oga made it four wins from four after seeing off the challenge of Creggan at Hannahstown on Thursday evening. 

Creggan were first off the mark when Conor Loughran’s free dropped short, and Tristian McCann flicked the ball over the bar. 

Conor McConville converted a free to draw his side level and a point from Sean Og McLaren had the hosts in front. 

McLaren notched up the opening goal of the game, Gerard Doherty swung the ball to Daniel McConville whose shot dropped short and the full-forward rifled low to the net to give his side a 1-02-0-01 lead. 

Further scores followed from Fionn Jemfrey and a fantastic Matthew Murray effort from range before Creggan hit back. 

Conor Loughran stood over a 21-yard free and opted to go low to the net, beating Seamus McGuigan to bring his side back into proceedings at 1-04-1-01. 

But Na Gaeil Oga responded with Sean Og McLaren fielding a high ball and sending it between the posts for his second point of the evening and a second goal would soon follow. 

Fionn Jemfrey’s free dropped short, and McLaren sent the loose ball to the net to increase the lead. 

Conor Loughran replied with an outstanding point from range before Fionn Jemfrey took centre stage with four of the next five scores in succession. 

The Sarsfields wing-half forward was afforded too much time on the ball and picked off a couple of nice scores, the last of which came from a tricky angle with Sean Og McLaren registering another in-between times as Na Gaeil Oga opened up a 2-10-1-02 lead. 

Creggan rallied briefly before the break with Cillian McEldowney swinging over a nice point and Conor Loughran converting his second free of the half and brining his individual tally to 1-02. 

Daniel McConville adds his sides third goal

However, in-between those scores a third goal arrived for the hosts with brothers Conor and Daniel McConville linking up for younger sibling Daniel to give his side a 3-10-1-04 lead at the midway point of proceedings.

The visitors began the second half on the front foot and opened up with three successive scores. 

Two of them converted frees from Conor Loughran- who added another from play shortly after. 

Na Gaeil Oga got off the mark with their fourth goal of the game after Daniel Mulholland slipped the ball inside to Fionn Jemfrey who applied the finish. 

Fionn Jemfrey was in fine scoring form over the course of the evening

Jemfrey added his sixth point of the evening in the aftermath and Loughran responded at the other end. 

Goal number five for the hosts fell to Gerard Doherty, Sean Og McLaren’s side-line cut fell to the corner-forward and he batted the ball home to make it 5-11-1-08. 

Two more Jemfrey points followed after the second half water-break, Conor McConville would enter proceedings again after taking a knock and he converted his second free of the evening. 

Sean Og McLaren would then secure his third goal of the evening, but a lot of the credit had to go to Corey Camlin who advanced up field and cut in at the by-line before picking out the full-forward for a tidy finish to the net. 

Creggan found their second goal of the evening at the other end with Cillian McEldowney picking out Conor McLarnon- his sides original keeper for the evening and McLarnon showed his talents don’t only stretch to keeping the ball out but also scoring goals. 

The goal scoring wasn’t finished yet with Fionn Jemfrey linking up with substitute Ronan Webb to complete the goal scoring action for the evening. 

Conor McConville would convert a further free before the evening was out as Na Gaeil Oga secured their fourth win on the bounce to cement their place at the league summit. 

Na Gaeil Oga: S McGuigan, A McStay, O Lee, E Coleman, C Camlin, J Ward, J Walsh, C McConville (0-03f), S McCarthy, M Murray (0-01), F Jemfrey (2-08), D McConville (1-00), D Mulholland, S Og McLaren (3-03), G Doherty (1-00). Subs: D Monaghan for C McConville (37), R Webb for D McConville (46), C McConville for J Walsh (48). 

Creggan: C McLarnon (1-00), P McNally, A McIlwee, M Donaghy, P O’Neill, F O’Donnell, S McCann, C McEldowney (0-01), T McAteer, S Devlin, C Loughran (1-06, 1-03f), C O’Neill, C McTeague, R McGrath, T McCann (0-01). Subs: C Downey for C McTeague (HT), R McGuickan for R McGrath (HT), D McCann for M Donaghy (HT). 

Referee: Ray Matthews (Rossa)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.