Mc Laughlin the Hat-trick Hero!!

Pics: Pete Hyndman

Casement SC JHC Group 2

Shane Uí Neills 6-27   Loch Mór Dál gCais 0-07

Dylan McLaughlin was the hat-trick hero as one of the favourites for this year’s Casement SC Junior Hurling championship, Shane O’Neill’s Glenarm proved too strong for beaten B championship finalists, Loch Mor Dal gCais in Crumlin last night.

Dan Black got the Feystown side on their way with a point in the opening 20 seconds but Declan Phillips replied for the Loch Shore side to tie the contest. It wasn’t long before the Division 3 side were back in front as Sean O Boyle pounced on a loose ball and slotted over the bar in the 2nd minute.

Ciaran “Murph” O Boyle added another but back came Loch Mor and Darragh Turley fired over a “65”reducing the score-line to a point in favour of Glenarm. 

A smart run out on the wing led to Kevin O Boyle driving over a delightful score from 35 yards and Dan Black floated over a free before Darren Hamill pointed from a “65”, to increase the visitor’s lead by 4 points. 

Loch Mor hit back with a pointed free from young Darragh Turley but Ciaran Magill found space and drove forward and evaded a block to hit the sliotar over the bar.

Moments later McLaughlin won the puck out and evaded a tackle and romped forward and sent a rasper goal-ward and despite the best efforts of net-minder Bailey Graham the ball deflected of his stick and ended in the net.

The visitors were now in charge and Ciaran Magill started the second quarter with a nice effort with Loch Mór’s Turley replying with a point at the other end.

Kevin O Boyle added to his tally with another excellent point from play and on twenty four minutes  Dylan McLaughlin floated a ball into the path of Ciaran O Boyle who fired over another score.

A fine solo effort next was a joy to watch as Sean O Boyle won a ball deep out on the wing and with pin point accuracy drove the ball over Graham’s bar. On the stroke of half time Black hit his third score with a point to leave the half time score, Shane Uí Neills 1-12  Loch Mór Dál gCais  0-05.

Aidan O Neill replaced Paddy McAuley at the start of the second half and a purple-patch saw the Feystown boys hit a salvo of points through Dan Black 0-3 and a Magill effort.

Loch Mór’s  Darragh Turley showed his accuracy with a point from play out on the “45” but again Shane O’Neill’s responded through Magill and Black before two quick majors really turned this game in favour of  the boys in blue.

The first green flag effort came from Kevin O Boyle as he let the ball bounce in front of him before pulling on it and rattling the net. The second came from Ciaran O Boyle who collected a great pass from Daz Hamill before ramming home Glenarm’s third goal.

Declan McDermott, having a solid game at corner back ran up the wing and struck the sliotar from distance over the bar and Dan Black again converted before the end of the third quarter.

After the water break the blue wave continued with Kevin O Boyle pointing before McLaughlin hit his 2nd major of the game. Ciaran Magill added his fifth point before Loch Mor replied with their final point of the game in 54th minute.

Shane O’Neill’s produced a storming finish, hitting a further 2-05 without reply. Substitute Sean O Hare split the uprights and then fed Dylan McLaughlin who fired beyond the Loch Mór keeper. Magill pointed again before young Aidan Scullion got his name on the score-card with a goal when his lofted shot deceived Bailey Graham and nestled in the back of the net.

Scullion added a lovely point to conclude the scoring and get Glenarm’s championship campaign up and running. The Feystown side entertain Con Magee’s Glenravel this Saturday and will face a sterner test while Loch Mor Dal gCais travel to St. Teresa’s.

Shane Uí Neills    Niall Hamill, Kieran O Boyle, Barry Hamill, Declan Mc Dermott 0-01, Paddy Mc Auley, Darren Hamill 0-01 1 65, Chrissy Matthews, Aidan Scullion 1-01, Ben O Boyle, Dylan Mc Laughlin 3-01, Daniel Black 0-08 2f, Ciaran Magill 0-07, Kevin O Boyle1-03, Sean O Boyle 0-02, Ciaran O Boyle 1-02.                                       Subs used.    Sean O Hare 0-01, Aidan O Neill, Paul Magill, Conal Ward, Ryan Mc Loughlin.

Subs. Ciaran Finnegan, Darryl Mc Mullan, Rory Mulvenna, Joe Cunning, Liam Mc Loughlin, Liam Mulvenna.

Loch Mór Dál gCais.   Bailey Graham, Aaron Monaghan, Michael Morgan, Oisin O Boyle, Gerard Pickering, Conor Jones, Daith Mc Areavey, Michael Mc Cullagh,   Declan Phillips 0-02, Matthew Jones , Paul Molloy, Darragh Turley 0-04 , Ruairi Bannon, Martin Branniff 0-01.

REFEREE…Patrick Tumelty    Lámh Dhearg.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.