McNaughton leads the line as Shamrocks start well

Bathshack Antrim Senior Hurling Championship

Naomh Eanna 0-17 Loughgiel Shamrocks 2-25

James McNaughton led the way as last year’s beaten finalists Loughgiel travelled to Hightown and beat Naomh Eanna in the first game of this season’s campaign. The right half forward scored 10 of this team’s points on their way to a decisive victory and now face a trip to Ballycastle on Saturday in good shape.

2019 Intermediate champions Naomh Eanna fought all the way but Loughgiel always had that little bit extra scoring power and won in the end by a 14 point margin

James McNaughton had his first two points from frees in the opening minutes, and though Cormac Ross came back with a point, and Daniel McCloskey followed with a goal and a point to pull Loughgiel six clear by the sixth minute. Cormac Jennings and Joe Maskey came back with points but the Shamrocks hit a run of points without reply, three of them from James McNaughton and one each from Callum McKendry and Christy McGarry. The Cormacs, Jennings and Rossa kept Naomh Eanna in touch but three points inside two minutes by James McNaughton just before the half time whistle had the Shamrocks 10 clear. (1-14 to 0-7)

The first ten minutes of the second half saw the teams go score for score with Cormac Ross (2) and Ruairi Diamond answering points from Paul Boyle, Donal McKinley and Callum McKendry. Three on the trot from the Shamrocks Shan McGrath, James McNaughton and Paul Boyle put a little more daylight between the sides, and when John Francis Connolly grabbed his team’s second goal there was no way back for the home team.


Martin Curran, Dara Maguire, Eoin Conlon, Rian Bogue, Mark Donaghy, Rian O’Connor, Eddie O’Connor, Diarmuid Maguire, Kuke O’Connor, Cormac Ross, Ruairi Diamond, Joe Maskey, Daniel Lowry, Cormac Jennings, Killian Jennings.


Chrissy O’Connell, Tiernan Coyle, Tony McCloskey, Ronan McCloskey, Declan McCloskey, Seamus Dobbin, Damon McMullan, Paul Boyle, Shan McGrath, James McNaughton, Callum McKendry, Donal McKinley, Christy McGarry, John Frances Connolly, Daniel McCloskey.

Referee – Mark O’Neill

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.