Rooney and Hanna goals pave the way for Aldergrove victory

LGFA Minor C Championship Final

Aldergrove 6-11  St. Galls 3-9

Goals from Orla Rooney and Ciara Hanna in the final quarter and a series of excellent saves from their keeper, Lucy Simpson paved the way for a deserved victory for St. James’ Aldergrove over a battling St. Gall’s in this LGFA Antrim Minor C championship final at St Agnes on Saturday.

There was little between the sides today during this keenly contested encounter with St. James’ holding a slender 3-1 to 2-3 lead at the first water break thanks to two goals from Katie McArt and another from Bronagh McGuinness and the St. Gall’s majors coming from Cora Bellew and the excellent Niamh Bellew.

It was iona Burnside who opened the scoring with a point after her rasping shot was pushed over by Abbie Browning in the St. Gall’s goal with St. Gall’s points in the opening quarter coming from Niamh Bellew, Mia Maguire and Erin Hughes.

Aoife Curry extended the Aldergrove lead with a goal in the 18th minute with Bronagh McGuinness, Katie Rose Bell and Bronagh McGuinness adding point but St. Gall’s matched their opponents all the way through an excellent second quarter.

Niamh Bellew led the way with three points and Cora Bellew got another before their top player Niamh Bellew got in for a goal in the 31st minute to leave the sides level at the half way mark, St. Gall’s 3-7 – Aldergrove 4-4.

St. James’ Aldergrove made a strong start to the second half with Orla Rooney leading the way with a couple of early points and then Abbie Browning brought off a good save to deny the same player to deny her a goal.

St. Gall’s replied but this time it was the turn of Lucy Simpson in the Aldergrove nets to come to her side’s rescue as the Milltown girls threatened as she pulled off a couple of excellent saves.

Cora Bellew pulled one back for St. Gall’s but the momentum was now with the Crumlin girls and Katie Rose Bell pointed before Orla Rooney got through for her side’s fifth goal to move them five ahead at the water break but it took another great double save from Lucy Simpson to give them that bit of breathing space.

During the final quarter it was St. James’ who pushed home their advantage with the impressive Orla Rooney adding a point and Ciara Hanna following with their sixth goal in the 55th minute before Cora Bellew replied with a point for the Milltown girls.

It was to prove St. Gall’s only score of the final quarter with the Crumlin ladies finishing strongly with points from Ciara Hanna, Bronagh McGuinness and an Orla Rooney pointed free to cross the line fairly convincing winners in the end though they can thank their keeper Lucy Simpson for a number of spectacular saves over the hour.

St. James’ Aldergrove: 1 Lucy Simpson, 2 Caoimhe Bell, 3 Grace O’Neill, 4 Cait Rooney, 5 Rachel Simpson, 6 Katie Rose Bell, 7 Aine Kelly, 8 Colleen McGuinness, 9 Roisin Crossan, 10 Bronagh McGuinness, 11 Orla Rooney, 12 Ciara Creaney, 13 Katie McArt, 14 iona Burnside, 15 Riona Muldoon, 16 Niamh McConnell, 17 Chloe Allen, 18 Meabh |Rooney, 19 Ciara Hanna, 20 Aoife Curry

St. Galls: 1 Abbie Browning, 3 Amy Browning, 4 Roise Morris, 5 Cara McDonald, 6 Orla Rose McGirr, 7 Holly Bone, 8 Erin Hughes, 9 Naoise McCrory, 10 Aoife McCloskey, 11 Niamh Bellew, 12 Mia Maguire, 14 Hannah Wilson, 15 Cora Bellew, 19 Hanna McGirr, 21 Emile McCrory

Referee: Ray Matthews (Rossa)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.