Honours shared between two great rivals

Ulster Senior Camogie final

Slaughtneil 0-9  Loughgiel 0-9

Loughgiel and Slaughtneil must meet again to decide who will be the 2020 Ulster Camogie Senior Club champions after the two finished deadlocked at Quinn Park, Ballymena on Sunday. Once again there was little to choose between these two excellent sides in a game that could have gone either way and in the end both will be glad to get another opportunity.  

In the early stages it looked like Loughgiel might end their run against their old rivals when they raced into a three-point lead with points from Emma McMullan, Racquel Murphy and Caitrín Dobbin.

It was eight minutes before Olivia Rafferty got the Emmet’s on the scoreboard, and two from Tina Bradley brought them back into it, though Loughgiel edged back ahead on 0-4 to 0-3 at the first water break.

The Derry champions went ahead for the first time when Tina Bradley and Therese Mellon fired over, but Roisín McCormick’s tied things up with a point from a 45, though Tina Bradley had Slaughtneill’s nosed in from at the break when she sent over a 45.

Bradley edged her side ahead with a 45 on the stroke of half time, and the joint captain hit another after the break to double the Emmet’s lead.

Loughgiel again hit back through Roisín McCormick, before Caitrín Dobbin powered through the centre of the Slaughtneil defence to level things at 0-7 apiece.

After the restart McCormick pointed a free to put Loughgiel back in front, but Slaughtneil came back again through Brídín McAllister and Therese Mellon to give them the edge with the clock ticking down.

The pressure was really on Loughgiel, but Caitrin Dobbin never panicked and a strong run through the middle of the Slaughtneil defence brought her clear and she sent over the equaliser to set up a replay on Saturday next at Glen, Maghera.

SLAUGHTNEIL: Jolene Bradley, Orla McNeill, Louise Dougan, Eilis McGrath, Brídín McAllister (0-1), Clíodhna Ní Mhianáin, Clare McGrath, Shannon Graham, Céat McEldowney, Clíona Mulholland, Tina Bradley (0-5, 0-2f, 0-1 45), Aoife Ní Chaiside, Olivia Rafferty (0-1), Sinéad Mellon, Therese Mellon (0-2)

SUBS: Eimhear McGuigan for Sinéad Mellon (HT), Faoiltiarna Burke for Clíona Mulholland (57)

LOUGHGIEL: Megan Coyle, Charlene Campbell, Katie Lynn, Maria Lynn, Amy Boyle, Maeve Connolly, Shauna Devlin, Emma McFadden, Anna Connolly, Emma McMullan (0-1), Lucia McNaughton, Racquel Murphy (0-2), Roisín McCormick (0-3, 0-2f, 0-1 45), Caitrín Dobbin (0-3), Annie Lynn

SUBS: Christine Laverty for Anna Connolly (38), Katie McKillop for Annie Lynn (38)

REF: Philip McDonald (Cavan)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.