St Mary’s Aghagallon awards dinner

St Mary’s Aghagallon held their Annual Dinner and Awards Night on Friday in Edenmore Golf Club, Magheralin. After two years since the last Annual Dinner, it was great to get back out to celebrate the successes both on and off the field in 2021

Michael McStravick receives the Senior reserve Player of the Year award from Columb Walsh

Up first was the Reserve Player of the Year 2021, Micheal McStravick. In his first season of Senior football, Michael lead from the front in many games, taking his opportunity to get into the Senior team as well during the year. Next award was the Paddy Barnes – Senior Player of the Year 2020. Having missed last year’s award due to Covid, we recognised the 2020 Player of the Year tonight. Paul Mulholland won the award, for his top performances during the season.

Up next was the Tallon Cup – Senior Players Player of the Year 2021, Darryl McAlernon. Voted by the Senior players, Darryl showed his leadership and experience throughout the year, getting crucial scores in many games.

Last of the playing award was the Paddy Barnes – Senior Player of the Year 2021, Gareth “Dinky” Magee. A leader of the senior team, who contributed heavily on the scoring front, both from play and frees. Gareth was able to be at the Annual Dinner, and will be presented his award at a later date.

The two final awards were The Brendan Campbell award for Club Person of the Year, and it went to Gerard Lavery for his commitment to many roles from managing the lotto, stewarding, parking and lining the pitch. And the Agnes Hannon award for “Going the Extra Mile” was awarded to Teresa Hannon.

For all her help with the Senior Team during the year, organising the Training Gear order and providing and serving food. Also for managing the club shop, making sure everyone in the Parish turned green for the U15, U17 and Senior Championship campaigns Chairperson Columb Walsh, thanked everyone for attending. We are looking forward to our Club Development Workshop to create a strategic plan for the future of the Club and Community and ask everyone to attend Saturday 2nd April, 9:45am in Community Centre.

Aghgallon chairman Columb Walsh presents a sponsorship cheque to Bert Trowlen of the Saffron Gael at the club’s awards dinner in Edenmore Golf Club.

We also acknowledged the work that The Saffron Gael do for GAA coverage with Antrim with a presentation of donation towards the work they do. This was presented to Bert Trowlen, who was on hand all evening, taking pictures and joining in the craic! Thanks Bert. Thanks to everyone who helped make it a successful night including the Edenmore staff, as we kept going into early hours of the morning to the great tunes of DJ Mad Mick.

Darryl McEllernon receives the Tallon Cup for Players Player of the Year from club chairman Columb Walsh

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.