Creggan have no answer to sparkling Aldergrove

Ladies LGFA Division 2

Aldergrove 8-24 Creggan 2-4

Aldergrove had too much finishing power for a battling Creggan who didn’t help their cause by hitting 15 wides over the hour while the home side had lethal finishers in Katie McArt, Anna McBride and Caitlin McTaggart and dictated matters for most of the hour.

The Crumlin girls led 1-10 to 0-0 by the half way stage with their goal coming from Anna McBride and Caitlin McTaggart, Katie McArt and Emma McArt all in fine point scoring form. Creggan enjoyed plenty of possession during the opening thirty minutes but just couldn’t hit the target.

Emma McArt added a second goal for Aldergrove on the restart before Tara Hamill got through for a Creggan goal to open her sides account.

It brought about a quick response from St. James however as Anna McBride, Katie McArt and Colleen McGuinness responded with a flurry of goals with Emma McArt, Anna McBride, Bronagh McGuinness, Paula Masterson and Katie McArt adding points to put the home side out of site.

To their credit Creggan never stopped fighting and did enjoy more success than in the opening half with Aoife McAteer, Ashleigh Larkin, Ella McAteer, Mary Murray and Megan Darragh all on target but they had no answer on the night to an Aldergrove side who were in sparkling form.

Creggan: 1 Hannah Gately, 3 Aiveen Woulahan, 4 Nayana Cauhan, 5 Rose-Carey Small, 6 Megan Darragh, 7 Maria Gately, 9 Mary Murray, 10 Ella McAteer, 13 Ashleigh Larkin, 14 Ciara McCollum, 15 Tara Hamill, 16 Caoimhe McAteer, 17 Cerys O’Neill, 18 Neva Chauhan, 19 Caitlin Hawthorne, 21 Aoife McAteer.

Aldergrove: 1 Lucy Simpson, 2 Alannah McMaster, 3 Anna Crossan, 4 Sophie Nugent, 5 Bronach Mallon, 6 Paula Masterson, 7 Rebecca Marquess, 8 Caoimhe Bell, 9 Katie Rose Bell, 10 Katie McArt, 11 Caitlin McTaggart, 12 Colleen McGuinness, 13 Orla Rooney, 14 Anna McBride, 15 Emma McArt, 16 Aine Kelly, 17 Bronagh McGuinness, 18 Ciara O’Neill, 19 Anna McBride

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.