Ballymena missing a few stags but remaining bulls make it three in a row in ACHL

ACHL Division 4 – Round 3   (01-05-22)                                                                                              Naomh Pól 2nds 0:12   Naoimh Uile 4:19

Ballymena hurlers travelled to Belfast on May Day and recorded their third win in as many outings in the ACHL against St Paul’s 2nds at Shaw’s Road

While a number of “stags “were in Cardiff celebrating a club mate’s upcoming wedding, those who remained showed little inclination for romance as they romped onto the pitch like young bulls let out to spring grass for the first time.

And just like young bulls it took them some time to get used to their surroundings as positional switches and novel line ups seemed to cause confusion in the ranks.

The first half was peppered with uncharacteristic defensive errors and wayward shooting. But St Pauls’ were guilty of similar profligacy as both teams struggled to settle down. In the end goals from Eoin Magee and James O’Boyle kept All Saints in front at half time.

Half Time: Naomh Pól 0:07   Na Naoimh Uile 2:05

Ballymena were a transformed team in the second half – while maintaining the same intensity they started to play with composure and “heads up hurling”. The defense closed down attacking threats with increasing confidence; aerial ball was won in the middle third and shots that had drifted wide in the first half started to pierce the uprights with regularity – capped by goals from Jack Magill and Ciarán Neeson.

Ballymena emptied the subs bench giving senior debuts to Daniel McCoy, Diarmuid Casey and Joseph O’Rawe. The youngsters all performed well and when Daniel was fouled after catching an incoming ball he added his name to the score sheet from the resultant free.

Full Time: Naomh Pól 0:12   Na Naoimh Uile 4:19

All Saints now sit at the top of the D4 league table along with Loch Mór Dal gCais. The two sides meet next Sunday in Ballymena – the clash should attract a big crowd so patrons are advised to arrive early for the 2pm throw in.

Ballymena Team and Scorers


1. Ciaran Cassley, 2. Dwayne McKee, 3. Chris McAfee, 4. Kevin Brady, 5. Daniel Gray, 6. Colum Neeson (0:01), 7. Padraig Magill, 8. Gary Miskella, 9. Cormac Magill,10. Eoin Magee (1:00), 11. Ciaran Neeson (1:14 – 6F, 65), 12Daire Hasson, 13. James O.Boyle (1:02) 14, Conrad Duffin, 15. Jack Magill (1:01),

16, Anthony Mitchell, 17. TP McGurk, 18. Daniel McCoy (0:01), 19. Diarmuid Casey, 20. Joseph O’Rawe.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.