Antrim lose in Breffni but restore pride

Ulster MFC Round 3

Cavan 1-16 Antrim 0-13

Antrim made their final exit from this year’s Ulster Minor Football championship when they lost to a strong Cavan team at Breffni Park but turned in a battling performance that will have restored pride in the jersey following their heavy defeat to Tyrone last weekend.

Antrim were forced to field without the service of a couple of key players but It took a Conal Mooney goal in the first minute of injury time to finally kill off a battling Antrim challenge and the visitors will reflect on a number of missed chances over the hour.

Cavan led all the way and a couple of points from |Matthew Smith and another from Lorcan had them 0-3 to 0-2 ahead after 14 minutes with Tiernan McCormick and Conhuir Johnston on target for the visitors.

Cavan kept their noses in front with the impressive Cian Keaney and Cormac Callaghan leading the way but they were never able to shake off the Antrim challenge as Conhuir Johnston, Paul Duffin and Ciaran McAleese fired over Antrim points to leave the visitors trailing by 0-5 to 0-8 at half time.

Keaney increased Cavan’s lead with a point on the restartbut Antrim replied through Ciaran McAleese and Conhuir Johnston to leave just two between the sides with three minutes of the new half gone

Try as they might the Saffrons could not get their noses in front despite playing some excellent football with points from James Blaney and Conhuir Johnston keeping the gap at two after 14 minutes.

The home side pushed further ahead with scores from Lorcan Reilly and Cormac Callaghan but Antrim kept chipping away at the Breffni lead with Conhuir Johnston leading the way and a Sean Boyd point for the Saffrons left just three in it with time almost up and a goal at this stage was what the visitors needed.

The goal arrived but unfortunately for Antrim it was at the other end with Conal Mooney’s strike in injury time finally putting the game out of Antrim’s reach but the young Saffrons can hold their heads high following their performance today.

Antrim: Jamie McLaughlin, Thomas Lloyd, Conor Logue, Hugh O’Donnell, Paul Duffin, Diarmuid O’Sullivan, Ben McLarnon, Manus McCrossan, Tiernan McCormick, Lorcan Phillips, Conhuir Johnston, Rory McErlane, Ciaran McAleese, Niall Hynds, James Blaney. Sub: Sean Boyd

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.