Emmet’s show improvement but Portaferry still too strong

Antim Hurling League – Division 1

Cushendun 2-15 Portaferry 2-27

It was an early start for league leaders Portaferry who made it all the way from the Ards to Cushendun for an 11-30 start, but their 81 mile journey was well rewarded as they continued their unbeaten run, and headed home with the points yet again.

Having said that Cushendun will be happier with their performance, for although they were beaten by 12 points in the end, they showed a marked improvement from their recent performances.

Cushendun fared well in the opening half and trailed by just four at the break, 1-8 to 1-12, their goal coming from corner forward John V Morgan, while Tom Grattan hit the net for the visitors. Portaferry’s  corner-forward Ronan Blair continued his good form this season hitting 0-9 overall during the hour, six of them from frees.

The second half saw the Down men begin to pull away as Blair, centre forward Conor Mageean and right half forward Conor O’Prey hit some great scores.

Cushenun kept battling and Conor McHugh, who was playing at centre forward, grabbed a goal and six points, one of them from a sideline cut. Conlaoth McNeill was also in fine form from placed balls for the home side hit six from seven attempts, but the league leaders packed just too much punch and in the end had 12 points to spare. They have now moved three points ahead of their nearest rivals Loughgiel in the league race, with a game less played.

Portaferry’s next outing is on June 19th when they host third place St John’s, while the Emmet’s are not in action again until Wednesday June 22nd when they take on second placed Loughiel in Cushendun.


  1. Gareth Magee
    2 – Oisin McMahon
    3 – Aidan Corbett
    4 – Aidan McSparron
    5 – Thomas Scally
    6 – Donald O’Hara
    7 – Jack McKay
    8 – Pearse Bannon
    9 – Callum Kilgore
    10 – David Kilgore
    11- Conor McHugh (Smiley)
    12 – Harry Kilgore
    13 – Conor Bannon
    14 – Conleth McNeill (Loaf)
    15 – John V Morgan


  1. Paddy McNally
  2. Ciaran Savage
  3. Calum Smyth
  4. Ryan Convery
  5. Deaglan Mallon
  6. Caolan Taggart
  7. Barry Trainor
  8. Matthew Conlon
  9. Eoin Magee
  10. Conor O’Prey
  11. Conor Mageean
  12. Conor Faye
  13. Ronan Blair
  14. Conor McGrattan
  15. Eoin Sands

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.