St. Teresa’s close the gap to a point

ACFL Division 2

Rasharkin 1-7 St. Teresa’s 0-14

Bottom placed St Teresa’s took 2 valuable league points away from Dreen yesterday to move to within a point of Rasharkin who have now lost all 3 league games since the split.  St Teresa’s travelled minus a number of regular starters and without any subs, but started the game with real intent and had the ball over the bar inside 30 seconds.  Rasharkin were struggling to cope with the incisive St Teresa’s runners and the visitors were opening up the Rasharkin defence at every opportunity, Eamonn McNeill responded with 2 long range efforts in the 5th and 8th minutes but St Teresa’s had raced into a 7 points to 2 lead by the 14th minute.

Rasharkin did get to grips with them in the second period of the 1st half and had long periods of possession but struggled to create many scoring opportunities with only a Tiernan O’Boyle point after taking his mark from a long ball into the full forward line to leave the scores at 0-8 to 0-3 at half time.

St Teresa’s started the 2nd half strongly and pointed from a free to open up a 6 point gap, Rasharkin came alive and hit 2 well taken points from Connor McFerran.

A scuffle near the sideline resulted in a red card for Eamonn McNeill but Rasharkin rallied and won a penalty in the next play which was well finished by Shane Hasson to close the gap to a point.  St Teresa’s responded well though with 2 points to stretch their lead.  Rasharkin fought back with a point from Ryan Lynch and a Shane Hasson free but St Teresa’s were able to utilise the extra man to good effect to keep the scoreboard ticking over and ran out deserving 4 point winners.

Rasharkin: Andrew Hasson; Connor Higgins, Emmett McFerran, Pearce Kelly;

Donagh Quigg, Seamus Ellis, Colm Kennedy;Thomas McMullan, Ruairi O’Boyle;

Oran McMullan, Shane Hasson, Eamonn McNeill;Ryan Lynch, Connor McFerran, Tiernan O’Boyle


Connor Hasson for Connor Higgins HT,

Killian O’Boyle for Tiernan O’Boyle HT,

Connor Doherty for Thomas McMullan 51mins

Rasharkin Scorers:

Shane Hasson 1-01 (1-0 penalty, 0-1 frees)

Eamonn McNeill 0-02

Connor McFerran 0-02

Ryan Lynch 0-01

Tiernan O’Boyle 0-01

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.