Second half goals send Aldergrove to Junior Championship title


Aldergrove 5-10  Moneyglass 2-11

Four second half goals paved the way for a convincing win for St. James’ Aldergrove over St. Ergnat’s Moneyglass in this LGFA Junior Football final on Saturday. The Crumlin girls led 1-4 to 0-5 at half time with their goal coming from Nicole Jones in the 8th minute but Moneyglass finished the half strongly after a slow start and were well in contention at the break.

Aldergrove found another gear in the second half however with Nicole Jones striking her second goal in the 33d minute and Caitlin Taggart, Katie McArt and Emma McArt all rattling the Moneyglass net as they pushed on for an excellent victory.

Aldergrove made the early running and two points from Aoife Taggart, either side of Nicole Jones opening goal saw them lead 1-2 to 0-0 after 9 minutes and it would be another 5 minutes before Alicia McAuley raised St. Ergnat’s first white flag.

Dannielle Connolly, Ciara O’Boyle and Alica McAuley add further point for Moneyglass by the 24th minute to close the gap to one and they looked to be getting on top but Aldergrove replied through Caitlin Taggart and Aoife Taggart to move three in front.

The final score of the half fell to Alica Boyd who pointed in the 29th minute for the girls in yellow to leave just two in it in favour of the Crumlin girls at the break and the scene looked set for a tight second half.

Once again it was St. James’ who grabbed the initiative at the start of the second half and the excellent |Nicole Jones fired home her second goal with only three minutes gone with Caitlin Taggart, Aoife Taggart and Emma McArt adding points to move the girls in Red 8 ahead by the 38th minute.

As in the first half, St. Ergnat’s found it difficult to get going but they did come back with points from Ciara O’Boyle and two from Niamh McKeefry by the 44th minute to give their support some hope as we entered the final quarter.

Those hopes were quickly dashed as St. James came back with a vengeance as they hit three goals in a six minutes spell between the 46th and 52 minute through Caitlin Taggart and the McArt’s to put the game firmly to bed.

Niamh McKeefry 0-2, and Michelle Mullin added consolation points for he Marian Hill girls with Aoife McTaggart and Emma McArt completing the scoring for an excellent Aldergrove side to run out convincing winners.

Aldergrove: 1 Lucy Simpson, 2 Alannah McMaster, 3 Anna Crossan, 4 Bronach Mallon, 5 Aine Kelly, 6 Paula McMasterson, 7 Rebecca Marquess, 8 Colleen McGuinness, 9 Katie Rose Bell, 10 Roisin Crossan, 11 Nicole Jones, 12 Caitlin Taggart, 13 Aoife Taggart, 14 Anna McBride, 15 Emma McArt, 16 Katie McArt, 17 Caoimhe Bell, 18 Sophie Nugent, 19 Mia Dunlon, 20 Edel Neeson, 21 Meabh Rooney, 22 Orla Rooney, 23 Shannon McGarry, 24 Grace O’Neill, 25 Clare Hanna, 26 Bronagh McGuinness

Moneyglass: 1 Emily McCVoy, 2 Orla Rooney, 3 Geraldine Campbell, 4 Erin Duffin, 5 Alicia McAuley, 6 Danielle Duffin, 7 Katie Scullin, 8 Niamh Neeson, 9 Danielle Connolly, 10 Alica Boyd, 11 Niamh McKeefry, 12 Gemma Laverty, 13 Michelle Mullin, 14 Beverly Graffin, 15 Orlaith McAteer, 17 Cara McKeefry, 19 Annie Griffin, 20 Molly Gribbin, 21 Ciara O’Boyle, 22 Leah Cassidy, 24 Katie McCloskey

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.