Young Shamrocks win the Brendan McGarry Cup

Brendan McGarry Cup – Under 11 Hurling Championship

Loughgiel: 3-7(16) Cushendall: 0-5(5)

Loughgiel won the Brendan McGarry Memorial Cup when they beat Cushendall in the final of the Under 11 Hurling Championship at Loughgiel on Sunday.

After and early exchange of points between Loughgiel’s Joe Casey and Cushendall’s Oliver Mooney, Loughgiel came strongly with points from Cahir McCloskey, Joe Casey and Cody McGarry, which were followed soon afterwards by a Cody McGarry goal from a free to go 1-4 to 0-1 ahead after 14 minutes. Cushendall finished the first half strongly with a point from Eoin Lorcan Bradley and two from Brian McNeill to leave just a goal between the side at the end of the first half.

The second half started in similar fashion with Joe Casey getting a point in the first minute, but just as in the first Cushendall found a quick reply as substitute Ruairi Delargy pulled one back from play.

That was as good as it got for the visitors however as Loughgiel finished strongly with goals from Conor Connolly and Cahir McCloskey, plus points from Connolly and Casey to wrap up the victory.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.