St Louis bridged a 27 year gap with 2015 Mageean win

Mageean Cup Preview

St Louis Ballymena won the Mageean Cup for the first time since 1988 thanks to a 2-16 to 1-9 victory over St Mary’s CBS in the 2015 at the Dub.

St Louis were on top from the start and a Conal Cunning goal gave a great platform The Ballymena school took control, and though John Darragh gave the St Mary’s some hope with a goal just before the half time the winners still led by 1-10 to 0-3 at the interval.

James McNaughton

St Louis led 1-10 to 1-3 at half-time with Ciaran Elliott adding their second goal soon after the restart. With a team of stars, nine of whom went on to play senior county hurling with Antrim, there was no stopping the Ballymena school in the second half

With Seaan Elliott, Keelan Molloy, James McNaughton and Sean Duffin picking off the points, and Elliott grabbing his team’s second goal, they went on to win by ten points to win their second Mageean title.

Conal Cunning lifits Seaan Elliott on his shoulders after the game.
St Louis celebrate their great win over St Mary’s in the Mageean Cup final at the Dub in 2015. Pic by John McIlwaine

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.