St Louis first Mageean success came in 1988

Mageean Cup Preview

St Louis 7-11 St Mary’s CBGS 1-0

When St Louis made the Mageean Cup breakthrough back in 1988 they did it in emphatic style by beating 3-in-a-row chasing St Mary’s Belfast in a one sided final in Waterfoot.

Although they were dominant throughout the game St Louis did not take command of the game until twenty minutes in when Gary McCollum scored the first of his five goals. The corner forward went on to add two more before the break and with his Loughgiel clubmate Brian Gillan adding four points the Ballymena School went on to lead by 3-5 to 0-0 at half time, against a shell-shocked St Mary’s side.

St Louis with the Mageean Cup in 1988

When the sides met in the league section earlier in the league the Belfast side had come from eight down to win the game, so there was still hope as the second half resumed, but despite stubborn resistance from Terry Grego, Hillary McDaniel and Declan Barr there was to be no turnaround this time.

In truth it was decided in the opening minute of the new half when Niall Gillan got St Louis fourth goal Gillan and McCollum added further goals to stretch the gap even further while Ronan Boyle grabbed a late consolation goal for St Mary’s. Man of the match Gary McCollum brought his personal tally to 5-4 as he grabbed his team’s seventh.

James McMullan and his Glenariffe supporters after the game

In a strong defensive performance team captain Declan Hegarty and Glenravel’s Kevin McCann were well supported by Conor Connolly of All Saints and Dermot Fyfe of Glenravel, Tony Connolly and Kieran Quigley of All Saints and James McMullan of Glenariffe.

Brothers Brian and Niall Gillan done so much to help St Louis claim their first Mageean win, just like their dad Dan and uncle Tom had done for Garron Tower in winning their first Mageean back in 1952

St Louis

Gerad McGrath, Adrian Quinn, Declan Heggarty, Trevor McKeown, Conor Connolly, Kevin McCann (0-2), Dermot Fyfe, Tony McAuley, Ciaran Kearney, Kieran Quigley, James McMullan, Brian Gillan, Gary McCollum (5-4), Brian McGale, Niall Gillan (2-0).

Subs used. Neill ‘Vic’ McCann, Garry ‘Bean’ O’Neill, Paddy Hamill, Ciaran Richmond, Gerard Richmond.

St Mary’s

Michael Kennedy, Ciaran McCartney, Hilary McDaniel, Paul McDowell, Damian Linton, Terry Grego, Denis Kearney, Charlie McLarnon, Colm McGuinness, Kevin McKernan, Jimmy Wilson, Patrick Dobbin, Eugene Farley, Declan Barr, Donal Kennedy.

Subs used. Ronan Boyle (1-0)

Referee – Tom Donnelly (Gael Uladh)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.