St Benedict’s win the Noone Cup for the first time

Danske Bank Noone cup final

St Benedict’s Randalstown 2-16 St Malachy’s Castlewellan 1-9

Pics by Bert Trowlen

ST Benedict’s Randalstown won their first Danske Bank Noone Cup Hurling title when they beat St Malachy’s Castlewellan in Tuesday’s final at  Corrigan Park Belfast with an impressive display.

Corner forward Conor Loughran was the star of the show as he scored ten points in a man of the match display, while others to shine for the Randalstown side were centre forward Tiernan Bones and corner back Patrick McCloskey

Full forward Ewan McGrath got St Benedict’s off to a good start when he scored the opening goal in the13th minutes but Conor Connolly hit back with a goal for St Malachy’s soon afterwards, the stylish corner forward also adding four points. However St Benedict’s still manage to hold the upper hand and the Antrim side went on to lead 1-9 to 1-5, at the interval.

With the breeze at their backs in the second half Tir na nOg went further ahead with a cracking goal from Tiarnán Bonnes and it was clear that it was going to take something special from the Down side to keep in touch. Their task was made a lot harder when they had a player receive a second yellow, and subsequent red card, though it has to be said that the Randalstown boys looked destined to take the title regardless.

St Benedict’s: C Loughran 0-10 (5 fs), T Bonnes 1-2, E McGrath 1-1, S McCann 0-2, C McCamphill 0-1

St Malachy’s: C Connolly 1-7 (0-4 frees), E Daly 0-1, L McCrickard 0-1.

St Benedict’s : Malachy Martin, Aodhán McGuckian, Patrick McCloskey, Joel Robb, Callum Murray, Brendan Devlin, Rory Neeson, Ciarán McCamphill, Dylan McLarnon, Shea McCann, Tiarnán Bonnes, Ronan Neeson, Oistin Mooney, Ewan McGrath, Conor Loughran

Subs: Pearce Carney for Joel Robb, Efe Ejeta for Oistin Mooney

St Malachy’s: Liam King, Oisín McCann, Gary McKibben, Aodhán King, Caoimhín Doran, Jay McCrickard, Luke Brannigan, Lewis McCrickard, James McAleenan, Jude Ball, Emmett Hillen, Canice McCoy, Oisín Moore, Ryan McKibben, Connor Connolly,

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.