Glenariffe overcome fancied Ardoyne to take final spot

Under 16B LGFA Championship

Oisins 5-6 Ardoyne 4-7

Report and pics by Brian McKee

Going by their previous great form in the U16B league, Ardoyne went into this encounter in the Heart of the Glens as strong favourites. Glenariffe, however, tore up the form book and rocked the girls from Ardoyne from the throw in. Méadhbh Graham got the girls from Glenariffe off to a good start with an early point from a free in the opening minutes, and while Evie McAllister responded in kind for Ardoyne soon after, it was the home team who displayed early dominance.

Erinmae Mistéil was first to find the net for Glenariffe, but Ardoyne doggedly hung on with a lovely goal from Ellie O’Reilly. With Rhianna Ní Duibh leading the attack for Glenariffe, Ardoyne were struggling throughout the first half to find their previous good form. Glenariffe had the bit between their teeth and pushed ahead to lead their visitors by 3-2 to 1-5 at the half-time whistle.

While ErinMae Mistéil was in sparkling form in the first half, it was the turn of Anna McGarry to take responsibility for the Ardoyne ladies in the second half. She rifled to the back of the net following two 50 yard solo runs to cut through the Glenariffe defence in a determined attempt to get the Ardoyne ladies back into their groove. The ladies from the Glens though were not to be thwarted, and the loss of two players for Ardoyne in what was a competitive but good spirited game eventually took its toll. The Glenariffe supporters acclaimed a great win from a team who will rightly approach the final with a belief in their ability to lift the cup. The girls from Ardoyne will be even more determined to finish their season with a win in their final game of the season to lift the league title. A great advert for Ladies football for which both teams should be very proud.

Final Score: Glenariffe Oisin 5-6 Ciceam Ard Eoin 4-7

Glenariffe: 1 Maria McNaughton 2 Maria Rose Black 3 Michaela McLaughlin 4 Rhianna McAuley 5 Máirín Mag Aodh 6 Rhianna Ní Duibh (0-1) 7 Scarlett Kerr McKillop 8 Erin Eireann 9 Tamara Ní Duibh (0-2) 10 Dervla Mac Maoláin (0-1) 11 Sorcha Ni Duibh 12 Kiera McLaughlin (1-1) 13 Eilís Emerson 14 Erinmae Mistéil (4-1) 15 Méadhbh Graham (0-1) 1f 16 Bernadette Mulholland 17 Mary Catherine Mulholland 18 Níamh McNaughton 19 Eabha Delargy 20 Orla Mac Cuairt 21 Ellen Grant

Ardoyne: 1 Lucie Biadhtach 2 Ellie Rose Níc hAodha 3 Ella McLaughlin 4 Orlaith Mailey 5 Adrianna McAllister 6 Niamh McAuley 7 Orlaith Ní Lionsigh 8 Eadaoin McDonnell 9 Anna Mag Fhearadhaigh (2-3) 10 Evie McAllister (0-2) 1f 11 Carys O’Neill 12 Catherine Glover  (1-1) 13 Ellie O’Reilly (1-1) 14 Margaret DiLucia 15 Abbi Maguire 16 Bethany MacThoirdealbh 17 Dearbhla Carmichael 18 Jessica Curley 19 Caoimhe McAllister 20 Aimee Louise MacLochlainn 21 Ava LeMahille 22 Catherine Mag Fhearadhaigh 23 Aoibheann Sands 24 Eve Ní Muireagáin 25 Sharon King

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.