St Pat’s Maghera take Corn Eimhear title Ulster Schools’ Corn Eimhear final

St Patrick’s Maghera 1-7 St Louis Ballymena 1-0

Corn Eimear Final – Ulster Colleges Year 8 Camogie

St Louis bid for the Year 8 Camogie title came up short today at Greenlough when they were beaten  by and excellent St Pat’s Maghera side.  Bigger, stronger and highly skilful the St Pat’s team had just a little too much for the Ballymena school in the end. However it was not for the lack of effort for St Louis gave it everything they had and team captain Katie Molloy, midfielder Cliona Griffin, full back Susan Shannon and centre forward Eibhlin Gould they had three real heroes who battled bravely against the odds. But they were up against a highly talented St Pat’s team for whom team captain Evanne Martin was simply outstanding while her colleagues Abi McNeill, Leah McPeake and  Annie Madden were also top class

x - 7

St Pat’s were dominant from the start and laid siege on the Ballymena goal but some tremendous defending by the St Louis rearguard held them out until the sixth minute when Martin made the breakthrough with a point. The Kilrea girl added another from a free a minute later, one from a 45 in the eighth minute before lobbing the ball over the St Louis keeper for a goal on nine minutes.

Things looked bleak for St Louis at this stage but they were thrown a life line on fourteen minutes when full forward Clannaid O’Kane grabbed finished a good move by firing home a goal. This gave St Louis hopes but St Pat’s won back the initiative and points from Annie Madden and Evanne Martin gave them a half time lead of 1-7 to 1-0.

Madden increased the lead to eight soon after half time  with another left sided strike and Martin opened the gap to nine in the 33rd minute. St Louis defence battened down the hatches and through sheer effort and determination held the Maghera girls scoreless for the remaining 18 minutes. They came close to pulling a goal back when Eibhlin Gould’s shot came back off the St Pat’s crossbar but their luck was out and Maghera deservedly collected the Corm Eimear trophy.

St Patrick’s : R McGoldrick, AM Laverty, A McNeill, M Murray, G McLaughlin, M Doherty, L McPeake, E Martin 1-5, 0-1, B McLaughlin, A Strathern, A Madden 0-2, C Kearney, N McAllster, M McIlvar, N Cassidy.

Subs: A McWilliams, A McCartney, A Diamond, A Mullan, B Convery, C McCloskey, C McMaster, C McAtamney, C Deighan, C Winton, C McMullan, C McElhinney, E McSwiggan, E McEldowney, G Lynch, H O’Donnell, K McNally, L Kelly, M McElhennon, O McFlynn, S Nic Giolla Fhiondáin, T O’Kane.

St Louis : E Garside, E O’Neill, S Shannon, A Bryson, S Fyfe, K Molloy, E Donnelly, C Griffin, E Johnson, C Higgins, E Gould, F McErlain, C O ‘Kane 1-0, G McVeigh, A McKillen.

Subs : A Vallelly for F McErlain

Referee : Sean McGuigan (Slaughtneil)


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.