Antrim County Convention 2018/19 (Monday 3rd December)

Left to right: Ciaran McCavanagh, Owen Elliott and Joe Edwards who are contesting the position of Antrim Chairman at the County Convention on the 3rd December.

The Antrim County Convention is scheduled to take place on Monday 3rd December and although three of the top posts are to be vacated the delegates to the annual gathering will only be asked to cast their votes for one of the positions.

The chairman, vice chairman, and treasurer are stepping down from their roles and only the top position is to be contested.

Colin Donnelly who has held the top position for three years will be replaced by election involving, Ciaran McCavanagh (St Enda’s), Joe Edwards (St Paul’s), and Owen Elliot (All Saint’s).

The ultimate successor to Donnelly will look to tread on the same path as the St John’s club man who has made a big impact on Antrim affairs since he assumed the top job as part of the Saffron Vision group and together with his vice chair Terry Reilly and treasurer Paul McCann they have led the county on a path to transform their fortunes.

Under their watch Antrim were transformed into a profitable body and successfully managed to negotiate million pound investment from headquarters to aid an initiative as the ‘Gaelfast Project” aiming at the re-invigoration of Gaelic games in the primary schools in Belfast.

Ciaran McCavanagh who hails from the St Enda’s club, a chartered accountant who has offices in both Belfast and Dublin has been involved in both senior hurling and football at the Glengormley based club and held the top post there for a number of years.

He was also very much involved in the development of a ‘community hub’ at the Hightown base which is set for completion in the spring of 2019.

Joe Edwards is another candidate well equipped for the top post and the St Paul’s club man has earned the respect of Gaels both in Antrim and beyond.

Well known for his integrity and his bottomless knowledge of the rule book he is also nominated to retain the position as a delegate to the Ulster Council which he presently holds.

Owen Elliot who has held the post of North Antrim chairman for the past four years and has served the committee for 15 years, is a native of Ballycastle but is a member of the All Saint’s club in Ballymena and is another with a wealth of experience in the Association and has served as fixtures secretary this year. An able administrator he is more than capable of ascending to the top position.

Eamon Grieve is set to return unopposed to take the treasurers position previously held by Paul McCann with Cushendall club man Tommy Campbell the only nominee for the vice chair role vacated by Terry Reilly.

The remaining posts sees the outgoing officers return unopposed.

Chairman: Ciaran Mc Cavanagh, Joe Edwards, Owen Elliot

Vice Chairman: Terry Campbell

Asst Secretary:  Paul O’ Brien

Treasurer:         Eamon Grieve

Asst Treasurer: Tyrone Eastwood

P R O:                 Sean Kelly

Coaching:          Liam Mc Goldrick

Development:  (Appointed by CC)

Language and Cultural:  Bronagh Lennon

Central Council Delegate: Philip Christie

Delegate to Ulster Council (2): Joe Edwards Alex Mc Quillan

Motions and Recommendations


1 That the All Ireland Club Championships at Senior, Intermediate, and Junior in both Hurling and Football be completed in the calendar year from 2019

(Glen Rovers Armoy)

2 That the GAA provide financial assistance (in the form of an annual grant) to help clubs employ an administrative assistant, to deal with the ever increasing amount of administrative work currently required of volunteers to ensure the club meets all of its obligations and carry on as a functioning club.

(St Joseph’s Glenavy)

3 That all juvenile knock-out competitions (from under-12 and up to and including under-18), that finish level at full time proceed to extra time involving two ten minutes and if still level proceed to a replay.

(Mc Quillan’s Ballycastle)

4 (Restructure of All County Football Leagues for the 2019 season)

The All County Football Leagues to be restricted on a pilot basis for one year to the following;

Div 1A—-8 team league (top 8 placed teams in 2018 season

Div 1B—-8 team league (9-16 placed teams in the 2018 season)

Div 2A—-8 team league (17-24 placed teams in the 2018 season)

DIV 2B—10 team league (25-34 placed teams in the 2018 season)

The rationale being is that this structure would lead to a higher quality league format with most (if not all) teams playing at a similar/comparable level of competition.

This is a pilot proposal for one year-to be revisited at the 2019 convention.

St Paul’s


1 In all juvenile league competitions (up to and including under-16 where two or more teams finish level on points at the top a play-off will be used to decide the winners.

Mc Quillan’s Ballycastle

2 All under-21 championship games going forward shall be played on a Sunday.

St Paul’s








Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.