Oisins clinch U14 Shield

North Antrim Under 14 Hurling Shield final

Oisins Glenariffe 1-10 Loughgiel Shamrocks 2-2

Oisins won the Under 14 North Antrim Shield when they beat Loughgiel in Sunday evening’s final at Pairc MacUilin Ballycastle. Leading by 0-8 to 2-0 at half time the Oisins struck a decisive blow early in the second half when a long range free by full-back Cathán Graham went all the way to the Loughgiel net. Loughgiel closed the gap with two pointed frees and with seven minutes left to play were just a goal behind. However the Oisins held their opponents scoreless for the remainder of the game and two late points sealed the win.

Celebration time! The Oisins subs run on to celebrate with their team mates at the final whistle.

The Oisins had the better start and after six minutes were three points to the good as Brogan O’Connor’s pointed free was followed by two from play by centre half forward Patrick McIlwaine, but that was all cancelled out in one fell swoop when corner forward Danny McAuley grabbed a Loughgiel goal. The Oisin retook the lead when McIlwaine and O’Connor sent over points but Loughgiel hit the front when Jack McCloskey grabbed his team’s second goal in the fourteenth minute. However that was to be their last score of the half and Glenariffe came back with two pointed frees by Brogan O’Connor and one from play by Cailin Devlin to lead by 0-8 to 2-0 at half time.

Graham’s goal soon after the restart put them in a strong position but Loughgiel came back with two pointed frees by Jack McCloskey. Orrin O’Connor put the Oisins four ahead before his brother Brogan added one from a free to seal the win.

OISINS: Phelim Ward, Odhran McClintock, Cathán Graham, Peadar McDonnell, Mathew Black, Ronan Leech, Niall Michael Magee, Calum McIlwaine, Cailin Devlin, Orrin O’Connor, Patrick McIlwaine, Oisin Healy, Eamonn Ward, Brogan O’Connor, John Scullion.

Subs – Oisin Ward, Daniel Douthart, Paddy Joe Harvey, James Kearney, Sheamus Monaghan, David Murray, Eoghan Robin, Colla Ward.

SHAMROCKS: Mark Christie, Ronan McLaughlin, Pearce Patterson, Ashdon McGarry, Charlie O’Hagan, Brian McGarry, Preston McGarry, Ben McGarry, Darragh Patterson, Liam Glackin, Ronan Casey, Ronan Fitzgerald, Roain McGarry, Jack McCloskey, Danny McAuley.

Subs – Gareth Boyd, Codai McGarry, Caolan Reid, Con McCormick, Ryan O’Boyle.

Referee – A McAuley (Ballycastle)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.