CPC edge St Louis

Danske bank Ulster Colleges Hurling – Foresters Cup

CPC 2-10 St Louis 0-13

Cross & Passion edged out St Louis by three points in Wednesday afternoon’s Foresters Cup opening group game at Cloughmills.

St Louis started the brighter of the two sides and points from Ryan McQuillan, Callum Higgins and Daire McMullan had them 0-3 to 0-0 ahead after four minutes but Christy ‘Bicky’ McGarry got CPC going with a point on five minutes. He added a second thirty seconds later when he fired over with the goal at his mercy but he made amends seven minutes later when he reacted well to a defencive blunder to poke the ball over the line. Tadh Donnelly, Dara Watterson and Ben O’Kane all added points for the Ballycastle boys to open a five point lead but St Louis finished the first half strongly and three points from Daire McMullan (2) and Ronan McCollum left just two in it at the break.

Christy McGarry who was top scorer for CPC

McGarry increased the Convent’s lead to three with a point just after the restart but his Loughgiel club mate Ronan McCollum responded with one at the other end inside thirty seconds for St Louis to close the gap to two again. The next ten minutes say CPC get on top and a Dara Watterson goal and points from Jack Colgan and McGarry stretched their lead to six. Two points inside a minute from Ronan McCollum got St Louis going again but McGarry added two more for CPC to put them back in charge and though St Louis rallied with well taken points from Jack McCloskey, Conor Dickson an Ryan McQuillan to leave just a goal in CPC held out to take the win.

St Louis centre back Daire McMulllan

CPC – Jimmy Joe Burns, Patrick McAlister, James Bakewell, Cathair Donnelly, Conan Sheridan, Oisin Elliott, Ronan McCormick, Jack Colgan, Oran Donnelly, Christy McGarry, Tadh Donnelly, Dara Kelly, Dara Watterson, Ben O’Kane.

ST LOUIS – Callum Mullan, Eamon Carey, Kevin O’Boyle, Joe Logan, Finn Henry, Daire McMullan Aodhan McGarry, Conor Dickson, Pearce Paterson, Darragh Patterson, Ryan McQuillan, Ronan McCollum, Ryan Mort, Callum Higgins, Conal McCloskey.

SUBS – Joe O’Rawe for Darragh Patterson; Jack McCloskey for Conal McCloskey; Oisin McCamphill for Ryan Mort.

REFEREE – Vincent Mort (Dunloy)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.