Aghagallon Celebrate

St Mary’s GAC Aghagallon held their Annual Dinner and Awards Night on Saturday in Edenmore Golf Club, Magheralin.

We were delighted to have Jim McGrath, Chairperson of South West Divisional Board as a guest, Jim remembered back to his first time playing in Aghagallon against the Shamrocks many years ago. Jim praised the achievements of the competitors and acknowledged the work done by Coaches and Volunteers for the Underage Football, both boys and girls, Camogie and Scor. He looked forward to seeing the underage successes progress into Seniors in years to come. Jim specifically acknowledged the work of Bronagh Lennon the County Antrim Cultural Officer and the work she has done both within the county and the club, with more and more competitors taking part every year throughout the county. Jim presented Bronagh with an award for recognition of this work on behalf of the South West Divisional Board.

Amanda Hamill, Chairperson of the camogie club then made their awards.

 Meabh Lenehan was awarded Club person of the year for her work both within the Camogie Club as well as the Ladies Football.

Emma Grant and Cliodhna McDonald were awarded Most Improved Players of the Year. Aoibhean McManus was awarded Senior player of the year and  Sarah Mooney was awarded Players player of the year.

Next up was the Senior reserve team, who had a very successful season winning the Senior Reserve Shield. Roland Mulholland accepted the Trophy as captain from Manager Sean Branagan.

The Player of the Year award had joint winners of Niall McShane and Kieran Hamill

Senior manager John Devlin made the individual awards to the Senior panel

Player’s player of the year went Ruairi McCann who capped a good season with a call up into the Antrim team for the Allianz National League and continues to stand out both for Club and County

Last but not least on the playing front Paul Mulholland was awarded Player of the Year for the Senior team, just reward for his commitment and hard work over the season 

The two final awards were The Brendan Campbell award for Club Person of the Year, and it went to James Kelly for his commitment during the year as Registrar, Coach and volunteer during the Alpha Programme.

And the Agnes Hannon award for “Going the Extra Mile” was presented, by her husband Hugh, and was awarded to Gerry Lavery. Another dedicated committee member who has filled many positions over the years, manages the club lotto, coordinates the club’s community outreach work including St Patricks Day Parades, and is always available to support club activity anyway he can.

Thanks to everyone who helped make it a successful night, kept going into early hours of the morning to the great tunes of DJ Satchi and to our good friend Bert Trowlen who was on hand to capture the memories

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.