Rasharkin hold on in tight opening game

ACFL Division 3

Rasharkin 2-8 St. Patrick’s Lisburn 2-7

St. Mary’s Rasharkin held off a sustained comeback from St. Patrick’s Lisburn in the opening game of the ACFL Division 3 at Dreen yesterday. Both these side suffered relegation from division 2 last year and on this display both teams will be amongst the favourites to gain promotion at seasons end.

Lisburn had a good season last year, despite relegation as they won the Junior Football Championship and McCormick Cup and were keen to get this year’s league campaign off to a winning start.

They looked the better side during the opening exchanges despite playing into the brisk breeze with Josh McMullan looking dangerous at full-forward every time he gained possession.

Slowly the home side settled with Thomas McMullan pointing in the 7th minute but it was Shane Hasson who was to go on and provide the greatest threat and his goal in the 16th minute put his side in a good position.

Dylan Doherty got in for a second goal with 33 minutes on the clock and the home side looked home and hosed as they led 2-6 to 1-3 going into the final quarter.

Lisburn pushed hard to close the gap and were helped by a rather fortuitous goal when an attempted point came back of the crossbar with ten minutes remaining and Josh McMullan was in the right place at the right time to palm it to the net.

St. Patrick’s cause was helped when Conor Hasson received a black card and they pressed hard in the closing stages but Shane Hasson pointed with eight minutes remaining to relieve the siege.

The visitors threw everything at their opponents in the closing stages but Hasson’s point was to prove the difference in the end and this win could set the South West men up for a good season as they attempt to make a quick return to division 2.

Daniel Doherty, Fergus Quigg, Daniel Hasson, Thomas McMullan, Dylan Doherty, Gerard O’Hagan and Shane Hasson were in fine form for Rasharkin while Josh McMullan provided the greatest threat from a Lisburn side who look capable of pushing for honours this year again.

Rasharkin team and scorers:

1. Ryan Doherty

2. John Henderson

3. Daniel Doherty

4. Aidan McKeever

5. Fergus Quigg

6. Conor Hasson (Black Card – 42 mins)

7. Daniel Hasson

8. Jack Quinn

9. Thomas McMullan (1 Point,  7mins)

10. Liam Quigg

11. Donagh Quigg (1 Point, 28 mins)

12. Dylan O’Doherty (1 goal, 33 mins) (1 point, 30 mins)

13. Gerard O’Hagan (2 points, 18mins, 40 mins)

14. Shane Hasson (1 goal, 16mins) (3 Points, 2mins, 34mins, 52mins)

15. Cahir Henderson


Ferghal Kennedy for Cahir Henderson (38 mins)

Thomas Doherty for Daniel Hasson (44 mins)

Emmet McFerran for Fergus Quigg (49 mins)

Colm Kennedy for Dylan O’Doherty (55 mins)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.