Ballinascreen win the Conor Devlin Cup while Swatragh take the Shield

The annual Conor Devlin Memorial U15 hurling tournament was held by Tír na nÓg, Whitehill, Randalstown on Saturday, and under glorious sunshine, those attending were treated to a feast of hurling.

With five Derry clubs (Ballinascreen, Banagher, Dungiven, Slaughtneil and Swatragh), and three Antrim teams (Ard na Rí, Loughgiel and Tír na nÓg), there was plenty of great hurling on offer as usual, making it one of the most important and enjoyable days in the club’s calendar.

The club in particular would like to thank the referees on the day: Ryan O’Reilly and Paul O’Neill, without whom there would have been no tournament.

The group stages were keenly contested and saw Ballinascreen, Banagher, Slaughtneil and Loughgiel qualify for the Cup semi-finals, with Swatragh, Dungiven, Ard na Rí and Tír na nÓg making the Shield semi-finals.

Two tough finals saw Swatragh win the Conor Devlin Shield with Ballinascreen winning the Conor Devlin Cup. Gabhan McIvor from Ballinascreen, with his strong and consistent performances throughout the day, was named as player of the tournament.

A great day was had by all, and Tír na nÓg would like to thank all the clubs, players, coaches and families who attended, as well as everyone who helped out, from linesmen to those making the burgers and sandwiches at the break!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.