Saints in a strong position going into final game

OB Construction IFC Group 1

St. Teresa’s 0-7 All Saints 3-18

Unbeaten All Saints travelled to the Glen Road on Sunday expecting a tough test but instead had little difficulty in dealing with a depleted St. Teresa’s side who had only 15 players with no substitutes.

The Ballymena side have been going well in this year’s championship and were determined to get the job done and came racing out of the starting blocks to dominate proceedings from the first whistle.

The Slemish Park outfit led 2-6 to 0-1 at the first water break and went on to extend their lead to 16 points at half time as St. Teresa’s struggled to deal with the pace of the opposition.

Conor Stewart and Brendan McDonnell led the scoring charge with county youngster Stewart hitting 1-3 and the mercurial McDonnell 2-1.

Things slowed down a bit after the break with All Saints adding a further 0-8 and the pleasing aspect for management team, Sean O’Brien and Damian Hagan will be the spread of scores from all over the field.

James McDonnell score 0-2 from left back with Kavan Keenan 0-2, Ronan McKillop 0-2, Michael McCarry 0-4, Sean McVeigh, Paddy McAleer, and Conal Lemon all on the score-sheet.

This win will help significantly improve All Saints score difference and leaves them in a strong position to advance to a semi-final place.

All Saints face Con Magee’s Glenravel in their final group game on the 3d October and if they avoid a heavy defeat they should advance to the semi-final though their management are unlikely to contemplate anything other than a win to keep their unbeaten run going.

All Saints:

Conor Brennan

Matt Downey

Peter McNicholl

James McDonnell (0.2)

Kavan Keenan (0.2)

Emmet Killough

Ciaran McGarry

Sean McVeigh (0.1)

Paddy McAleer (0.1)

Ronan McKillop (0.2)

Michael McCarry (0.4)

Conal Lemon (0.1)

Brendan McDonnell (2.1)

Conor Stewart (1.3)

Peter McReynolds

Subs: James Gillan for Peter McNicholl 35 mins

Shea O Brien for Paddy McAleer 40 mins

Joe Rafferty (0.1) for Matt Downey 42 mins

Rory McVeigh for Peter McReynolds 42 mins

Oisin Connolly for Ronan McKillop 45 mins

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.